Their True Colors

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I wanted to talk about how we think we know somebody but then that all changes after we see them react to a situation.

IMG_0566.jpeg

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Their True Colors

We all have people in our lives that we feel like we know, until something happens and then we realize we didn't know them at all..

IMG_2347.jpg

I would like to think that how I am as a person is overall how I portray it to other people around me. There are some variances there like not expressing certain beliefs or things about myself to others until I get to know them a lot more but for the most part, I try to be straight up. With some people though.. that isn't the case and it's very sad!

We've got someone that we know and spend a fair bit of time with over the years. They were always pretty decent.. but we had a sense of spoiled here and there that we figured wasn't that bad. Over the last year and a half or so though, we've realized that holy fuck they are ridiculous!

Without going into too much detail, given their privacy and all that but they had a parent that got sick with something pretty serious (thankfully not deadly) and their actions because of that opened up our eyes to how infantile they are, but it only got worse over time. For example, the sick parent had a dog but they couldn't care for the dog while they were recovering so they gave it to the kid. The kid had the dog for 2 or 3 days before they sent it to daycare because they couldn't handle it while they were working. It's a very small dog.. but again they are spoiled and infantile sadly. Eventually they gave the dog back to the parent WAY too early and it made the parent worse because they weren't focusing on their recovery. The kid then went on vacation, and didn't lift a finger to help the parent recovering with a dog they shouldn't have.

IMG_0567.jpeg

Fast forward to recent times, they have some other things going on like deaths in the family and having to help figure out long-term care for another member of the family and they are on the verge of a mental breakdown. That's life, sweetheart?

I feel nervous for the future because this isn't a microcosm of a tiny amount of the population. I certainly hope it's not, but this feels like a considerable amount of the population of the United States. People that are so fragile and frankly pathetic that they can't handle a minor inconvenience without "mentally breaking" as if helping a parent or family member is a crazy thing. People are getting their houses blown up and people in their neighborhoods shot, but this fragile fuck can't handle having to make arrangements for a family member without needing to take some medication.

The challenge here too is that we were really close to them but this has made us rethink some decisions and beliefs. It's sad for sure, but at the same time it's also relieving. I think it's important to see peoples true colors when they are under stress and it helps us see who they really are. With this individual, we could see some underlying things when we looked hard enough but a lot of things made a lot more sense as time went on and we saw more through the façade.

I would really like to think that I wouldn't behave like this adult-child person, and I think I can certainly be confident that I won't. I know my life isn't perfect, and have my challenges but I try to handle them as well as I can and not need to act like a child such as this individual does. I just hope that I can keep that mental capacity up long term in the future!

IMG_0566.jpeg

What about you, do you have someone close to you that you didn't think was a certain way until something stressful happened, and you got exposed to their true nature? Let me know in the comments!

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

-CmplXty. Real human written content, never AI. All pictures are mine unless otherwise stated

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,900 PRE tokens, with a market value of $180.27. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center