What's your motivation?

IMG_20180926_164244.jpg


I remember a long time ago when our now departed Jovi was just a puppy, we got an offer to take her to a professional trainer. I was working with a guy whose wife worked at a video production company. That production company was making a new training video with a somewhat famous trainer and they needed dogs to be in the video.

He asked if I was interested and since Jovi was relatively young and in need of some guidance, we jumped at the opportunity.

@mrsbozz was busy working a second job at the time, so I took Jovi to the session alone. It was slated for two hours and the trainer would go through various techniques with Jo for the camera. We got about halfway through the session, and I could tell the trainer was getting frustrated. I watched as treat after treat failed to correct the behavior that the trainer was trying to eliminate.

By the end of the session the trainer handed the lead back to me with Jovi and said something like "I don't know how to help your dog, she isn't motivated by food". If only she could have seen her in her later years breathing in our face every time we had even a morsel of food in our possession.

It became pretty apparent after the video experience that Jovi had some deep trauma that was keeping her from being properly trained.

We never did figure out what her motivation was, but we managed, and gave her the best life we could. I think she was happy and she definitely knew she was loved.

PXL_20240609_003334759.jpg


We were down in Ohio last weekend as I mentioned in this post and as is typically the case, my brother in law and niece were eager to head to one of the local ice cream parlors on Saturday night. If you know me, you know it is pretty rare when I turn down the chance to get some ice cream. I have a bit of a "sugar tooth" my nieces used to say when they were too young to know the actual phrase was "sweet tooth".

I was waiting in line to pay, and I saw this container of (chocolate) Gold Coins for $.89 a piece. I knew I had to stop and take a photos for the folks in the #silvergoldstackers group. I recently had a conversation with one of the members about whether I was a "stacker" or a "collector".

I had mentioned the fact that I needed to pick up some pieces that I didn't have an emotional attachment to. That way if the price went up, I wouldn't feel bad about parting with it. They mentioned that if I have that much attachment to most of my pieces then I am more likely a collector, not a stacker.

It got me thinking a bit about what my motivation is for silver stacking. Am I looking at it as a long term investment, or am I holding onto it as a collectors piece. Right now I can honestly say I only have two or three pieces that are generic enough that I wouldn't be sad to see them go. Especially if silver shot up to something crazy like $70 - $100 per ounce.

I know that isn't likely, but the fact still remains, what is my motivation? Is my silver protection against inflation or apocalypse? Is it just something cool that I can maybe hand down to my nieces or nephews one day? I honestly don't know at this point.

IMG20230709131018.jpg


Then we have crypto, the virtual meat and potatoes of why most of us are even here on Hive. I remember when I joined Hive over six years ago, the FOMO was strong. BTC had just skyrocketed to over $17,000. People were posting pics of their dogs and making hundreds if not thousands of the token per post, and we all had dollar signs in our eyes.

Then the reality of 2018 hit like a ton of bricks. Tokens fell, bid bots went bye bye, and eventually Hive was (re)born. All these years later and I still don't know if I could tell you what my motivation is.

I'd be lying if I said it had nothing to do with money now. I do well enough on my post rewards that it would be a slap in the face to those out there busting their butts if I were to say that. I have learned though, that Hive is a long game. A much longer game than I ever could have anticipated.

Ultimately, I think that is what motivates me. I'm a bit of a sore loser to be honest. I'm lucky enough to have a pretty decent job for where I live in the real world. Among many other things, Hive has become a bit of a game that I am intent on winning. Whether that means being able to cash out one day for life changing money, or being able to drop life changing money on other people via upvotes. Maybe a little bit of both to be honest.

One thing I do know is that these annoyingly low Hive prices lately have made me a motivated buyer!


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures/screenshots taken by myself or @mrsbozz unless otherwise sourced

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments