Ecency Points or Hive Power?

How did I Start?

Different phases of showing support to Hive Community members.

Phase 1

  • I used to select specific posts
  • On those selected posts, I used to boost with Ecency Points

Phase 2

  • I took help from active an curator @bhattg
  • He is assisting me from that time to find posts to curate & reward
  • I started contacting community mods but I did not get reply initially

Phase 3

  • After several attempts, I finally started received replies from community mods.
  • I co-ordinated with community mods about Ecency Points distribution.
  • I discussed with other community members like @melinda010100, @pravesh0, @alokkumar121, @balvinder294 for feedback on this method.

I still remember following & I always chuckle when I recall it 😹

Phase 4

  • I started distributing to different contest winners on different communities
  • For manually distributing points, I built a basic discord-bot command
  • I took help from @bhattg again to distribute points using that discord bot.

Phase 5 - Current Phase

  • I am distributing Ecency points to the authors picked by Community moderators
  • For these, I've built a bot based on hive-notifications.
  • My bot reads all the notifications.
  • It filters the mentions - notifications
  • If it's having a valid points distribution comment from selected community mods, bot will gift the the points to the author picked by community moderator.

Which Communities? - you may ask.

NameModCategoryHow much?Frequency
We Are Alive@flaxz@alive.chat winners200Daily
Silver BloggersSilverDudeEach participant of Contest1000 to 1500Monthly
Ladies of Hive@thekittygirl / @nainaztengraEach participant of Contest1000 to 1500Weekly
Shadow Hunters@melinda010100Each participant of Contest1000Weekly
Reflection Hunters@melinda010100Each participant of Contest1000Weekly
Med Hive@jaydrEach participant of Contest1000Weekly
Feathered Friends@nelinoevaEach participant of Contest1000Weekly
HeyHaveYaMet@BrittanDJosieWelcome New Hive Members150 to 200 PointsDaily
HiveCubahelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection100 or 50Daily
Power Plant Vegan@sirenahippieEach participant of ContestUp to 1000Weekly
Foodies Bee Hive@sirenahippieEach participant of ContestUp to 1000Weekly
India UnitedHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100Daily
Creative CusineHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100Daily
Mundo AutismoHelp from @bhattg / @parauri /@gsbilbaoManually Post Selection50 or 100Daily
Visual ShotsHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100Daily
Leo FinanceHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100Daily
SplinterLandsHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100Daily
LiketuHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100Daily
SlothBuzzHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100Daily
Three SpeakHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100Daily
Three ShortsHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100Daily
AlientoHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100Daily
Clean PlanetHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100Daily
Needle Work MondayHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100Daily
DIYHub@tibfox or Help from @bhattgDaily or Contest Based50 or 100Daily or Monthly

What else?

  • On top of distributing points, I also follow curation trails of all of these communities
  • To extend even more support - to some of the communities, I've also delegated some HP

You may ask - WHY?

  • Growth of Hive is only possible - TOGETHER
  • I want more & more people to join Hive.
  • Joining is first step - next step is to keep Hive Members motivated to keep contributing, stay invested, stay engaged.
  • With my own set of ideas, I came up with these approaches to motivate community members & help communities grow.

What's next Phase?

  • Ecency points can only be used on Ecency web-app.
  • I am starting to wonder - Is there a way with which I can reward community members which can be used on entire hive-eco-system?
  • Answer is simple - HivePower

What would you choose?

  • Reward 100 points OR Reward 0.1 HP
  • Reward 50 points OR Reward 0.05 HP
  • So, I started asking community mods above question.
  • What would you choose? As a reward - HivePower or Ecency Points?

Upside of Ecency Points

  1. People can use Ecency points whenever & however they want
  2. Minimum Ecency points based upvote can help them earn 1 Hive
  3. Ecency has a review process & only quality content gets upvote

Downside of Ecency points

  1. Most of People don't know "What is Ecency points"?
    • HHYM - they are new members they hardly know about Hive & Hive power. How can I expect them to know Ecency points
  2. Most of People don't know "How to use Ecency points?"
    • I have received couple of replies asking how to use it.
  3. Most of the Points are wasted
    • People don't use it at all / rarely use it
    • Points Boosts are rejected sometimes
  4. Ecency delegation return is low compare to our own hp-return.
  5. They can not Encash it

Upside of Hive Power

  • People get Hive Power in wallet directly
  • No hassle of learning additional tokens / points
  • People also get resource credit because of their increased hive-power
  • With Hive power, People can do lot of things
  • With Hive power, People stay invested (at least for 13 weeks)
  • With Hive power = Hive Ecosystem
  • People can encash it
  • 0.1 HP - instant impact - whereas Ecency points are not useful till it's used for boost
  • Hive Power Transfer can be done any time - even after post curation is complete
    e.g - Silver blogger, MedHive announces winners at the end of month

Downside of Hive Power

  • Human Phycology - 100 Points always sound bigger than 0.1 HP
  • 0.1 HP & 0.05 HP may sound little to the content creators
  • Ecency points can be gifted/transferred to someone else Hive Power can't be transferred until power-down.
  • 100 Ecency Points can earn a good reward compare to 0.1 HP
  • And even if - 0.1HP & 0.05HP - may sound smaller today,
  • I am sure that Hive price will touch the moon in near future
  • With these values (0.1HP & 0.05HP) I can afford to extend my support to even more communities.

Downside of Hive Power for Me

  • More expenditure for me - I get daily 30 comments for reward distribution - I may end up spending up-to-3 Hive per day.
  • I don't get delegation rewards from Ecency, instead I end up spending liquid Hive & I may have to power-down to give rewards

Decision

  • Based on interaction with couple of community mods, I've received replies as follows.
  • I am yet to hear from few community mods.
  • Instead of reaching out them individually on Discord, Hive & other mods of communication, I made a post & tagged as many as possible.
  • I request them to decide what would they use to reward community members.
NameModDecisionHow much?Frequency
We Are Alive@flaxz@alive.chat winners0.05 HP X 4 (0.2 HP per day)Daily
Silver BloggersSilverDudeEach participant of Contest0.1 HP per participantMonthly
Ladies of Hive@thekittygirl / @nainaztengraEach participant of Contest0.1 HP per participantWeekly
Shadow Hunters@melinda010100Please reply--
Reflection Hunters@melinda010100Please Reply--
Med Hive@jaydrPlease Reply--
Feathered Friends@nelinoevaPlease Reply--
HeyHaveYaMet@BrittanDJosieWelcome New Hive Members0.05 HP to 4 new Hive membersDaily
HiveCubahelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection100 or 50 pointsDaily
Power Plant Vegan@sirenahippieEach participant of ContestUp to 1000 pointsWeekly
Foodies Bee Hive@sirenahippieEach participant of ContestUp to 1000 pointsWeekly
India UnitedHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100 pointsDaily
Creative CusineHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100 pointsDaily
Mundo AutismoHelp from @bhattg / @parauri /@gsbilbaoManually Post Selection50 or 100 pointsDaily
Visual ShotsHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100 pointsDaily
Leo FinanceHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100 pointsDaily
SplinterLandsHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100 pointsDaily
LiketuHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100 pointsDaily
SlothBuzzHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100 pointsDaily
Three SpeakHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100 pointsDaily
Three ShortsHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100 pointsDaily
AlientoHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100 pointsDaily
Clean PlanetHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100 pointsDaily
Needle Work MondayHelp from @bhattgManually Post Selection50 or 100 pointsDaily
DIYHub@tibfox or Help from @bhattgDaily or Contest Based50 or 100 pointsDaily or Monthly

Dear community mods,

Eagerly waiting for your reply. Please reply.

What's next?

  • I will work on my bot 🤖 & add a feature to distribute HP
  • Once done, Selected Community mods can distribute HP from my wallet to motivate members.

Support me

  • Do you like the work I do?
  • Do you want me to keep going?
  • Please Reblog
  • Please help me connect with more communities
  • Please vote me as Hive Witness
Please 🙏Support Me
Vote me as Hive WitnessDonate Hive Or HBD
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
69 Comments
Ecency