Formulating My Plans To Make The Best Out of Hive

Formulating My Plans To Make The Best Out of Hive

January 8, 2023

I joined Hive six months ago. I posted my first article on July 19, 2022 ( I Finally Landed In Hive! (My Introductory Post)).

From that day up to the end of August, I was able to upload 15 posts. I observed that my earnings and the interactions that I get for each article are quite inconsistent. Thus I find it difficult to set a monthly goal.

Moving forward, after six months my wallet indicates that I have accumulated an estimated value of $95.84. This amount is distributed as Hive Power, Hive, and Hive Dollars.

My Realizations

There are a few things that I realized about Hive. It's not just a simple writing platform. In fact, it's a bit more complicated than I expected.

When I joined Hive via Ecency, my purpose was to earn some extra cash from the articles and other content that I write and make. Perhaps, a lot of us here joined this platform for that purpose.

Initially, I thought, posting and interacting with the other members by commenting and upvoting was the only way to succeed here in Hive.

Before I can make an effective plan to make the best out of Hive, I thought I should understand how the platform works a little better. So far here are some of the things that I realized.

Realization No. 1: Importance of Hive Power.

I realized that the value of our upvotes depends on the value of our Hive Power or HP. At the time of writing, I have 286.737 HP. With this, my upvote has a value of 0.004 at 100% voting power.

Realization No.2: There are More Ways To Earn.

I haven't been active in writing here for at least a couple of months. However, I continue to earn as long as I upvote some articles and repost them. Of course, I don't upvote and repost just any article that I come across.

This leads me to my next realization

Realization No. 3: I Don't Need To Upload Long Articles Every Day

When I was most active in read.cash, one of my goals was to write one article a day. I realized that it is not necessary here in Hive. Maybe I can share some short posts like my photos and artworks to the appropriate communities but not a six-hundred to a thousand-word article.

These are just three of the many realizations about Hive. However, these three alone are enough to start formulating my plans to make the best out of Hive.

For now here are the things I need to do.

Need to do

1. Start Where You Are

Aston Ashe said:

"Start where you are. Use what you have. Do what you can"

Simply put, I need to know where I am and what I have. The way I see it, I also need to take inventory of what I did in the past to get to what I have.
At the time of writing this is what I have.

Hive0.683
Hive Power286.737
Savings6.222
Hive Dollar$12.29

2. Set Goals

For the past six months, I find some difficulties in setting my goals here in Hive. Frankly speaking, I had no idea how. I have to thank @tengolotodo for his post 2022 Savings wrap ~ what I learnt for 2023.

Not that I can copy his target for 2022, I can now at least use his goals and achievements as a gauge in setting my goals.

I'm also learning from other members like @coquicoin who delegated some HP when I was new here in Hive. So thanks to two and the other friendly people of Hive. I think I will make a gratitude post for these people soon.

white ceramic mug with coffee on top of a plannerPhoto by Estée Janssens on Unsplash

Start With Simple Goals and Start Small

I can't make a ridiculously large goal. I will start small and I will keep them simple for now.

Hive earning/growth goals.

Goals for the First QuarterMonthly Goals
Hive Power+ 100
Savings+ 2
Hive Dollar+ $30.00

Activity Goals

New Followers30
Full Articles15
Short Posts30

At the time of writing, I only have 47 followers. I did not give it a thought before, but I believe the number of followers can help me achieve my goals.

I know that I cannot grow my followers by simply posting articles and other content. Here are the other things that I need to do in Hive.

  1. Join Challenges and contest. Curated challenges and contests are a great way to get my account exposed. I have joined a couple of #LMAC challenges before. I will try to join again in the future. @friendlymoose also tag me in the various photo contests that I'd love to join.
  2. Read, comment, reblog, upvote. I believe this is the best way to get the attention of other members. I have to do this every day. Upvoting and reblogging itself is rewarding, but commenting and replying to comments is the way to "connect" with the other members.

In Closing

Hive is more than a writing platform where members earn. It's also a great platform to gain new friends and learn a lot of things on different topics. Moreover, it's a great way to see the different parts of the world without leaving your home.

I hope 2023 will be a better and more prosperous year for all of us.

Thanks for reading.


Article No 2023-005*
All images are mine unless otherwise indicated.
| Read.cash | Noise. App | Hive (Via Ecency)| Forum Coin |
| Publish0x | Cointiply |
Or Checkout my LinkTree for updated links.

*-Fifth Article for 2023

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center