I DOUBT THAT "LUCKY CHARMS" ARE INCORPORATED BY NIGERIANS BUT THEY BELIEVE IN TRADITIONAL CHARMS

photo-1552267384-ee7d85cf3a8e.jpeg
source

I really do not believe in carrying lucky charms around, I see them as just beliefs that someone from the past just had a feeling that, oh if I carry this strange looking thing around, I will get better luck at what I am doing. No disrespect whatsoever to those that believe in stuffs like this but trust me, these common lucky charms we hear of on the internet are not realistic in Nigeria. Some lucky charms include: four leaf clover, pocket lighter, horseshoe, rabbit foot, color green, number seven, penny and so on.

images (29).jpeg
source

An example of four leaf lucky charm

In all of these, I guess the only one used in Nigeria is the penny i.e the coin. It is only used in game s or to determine who should take the lead and vice versa. Thereby bringing luck to one person who starts a game or something else.

Now let me tell you a shocker, in all of these I said, I do not dismiss the fact that we do not believe in charms in my country. It's just the lucky charms, but there are traditional believers who are accustomed to the traditional charms that are used for various reasons such as protection, strength, superpowers and so on. Thus, there is the use of amulets or beads which have been magically infected with supernatural power to prevent harmful influence on the person.

images (30).jpeg
source

Use of amulets

I do not condemn this act whatsoever, because people are allowed to practice whatever they believe in. This has been our culture from way back and our forefathers believed in it and It worked for them, most people still practice and use charms in this present day.

images (32).jpeg
source

Use of beaded charms for protection e.t.c

I do not believe it a stupid superstition. Even I can just see a strange object and have the conviction that if I hold on to this, it will definitely bring good tidings. It's all on faith.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center