Beyond the Words

"I like lots of music - but not opera! Never opera!" - the 12 year old version of me.

It's a little unusual for me to have said that when I think back. Having been trained classically in piano and ballet for 5 years at that point, you would think deep down I might have an appreciation for the beauty of the music. Not only the music - but the feeling associated with the music. Being able to glide 10 digits up and down the keyboard, expressing the complexity and artistry of classical composers certainly might have laid a foundation for a fondness? Floating across the floor in a tutu and tights, bending my body as a ballerina surely had a lasting effect?

NO. NOT. OPERA. 😤

The twelve year old me was defiant and resolute. (hmmm still sounding a little bit like the 46-year old me, but I digress) 😆

So, when my grandfather took me to New York... to the Met Operahouse - with all his opera-loving high society friends, and I was dressed to the nines in a ball gown - I must have had a sour face the entire night - right?

Wrong. So wrong. I absolutely fell in love.


Untitled design - 2022-08-02T145915.456.png

I was expecting what is portrayed in cartoons! hehe A large busty woman with a Viking hat, stomping around on stage, bullying the men into submission with her boisterous, obnoxious and POWERFUL voice.

What I saw?

Splendor, Spectacle, Scenery!

I had no idea how they had transformed the stage into a village in Mantua, Italy! I was ENTHRALLED! And I had absolutely no idea what they were saying.

But it was like entering this world where we only needed to speak the language of music, and I was absolutely swept away. Into the heart and soul of it all! Now, I'm going to give you TWO selections from Opera today. DO NOT RUN AWAY.

Pleeeease. Don't do it.

Let me convince you why you need to pause for a moment and allow this music to break your heart!


"Sull'aria" from Mozart's The Marriage of Figaro



Not only does this duet make your spirit soar - but this scene in the movie is absolutely one of the BEST there is! Andy Dufresne has been wrongly imprisoned, beaten and tortured - BUT his spirit refuses to be broken. After the warden recognizes that he has serious skills in banking, he gives him a nice, comfortable job in an office - doing taxes for the prison and the staff.

At this point, Andy is just simply too caged. He knows what this next action will cost him but he MUST feel free. Not only that - he MUST allow the other prisoners to know that they are human beings and that they can FEEL.

This stunt costs him a week in solitary confinement - but it was well worth it. Enjoy the music and enjoy the scene please!!!


Defying Gravity - from the musical, Wicked


I really prefer the videos of the actual play! hehehe But I'm not sure if those are allowed? LOL The best performance (for me) is the one on youtube labeled "Eden Espinosa - Defying Gravity (Los Angeles Closing)" I saw her live. I've seen 5 performances of Wicked! hahahaha and she was hands down - the BEST. I think she was even better than Idina Menzel! hehehe

Now the summary...

Elphaba (Wicked Witch of the West) and her story are told, in Wicked. The TRUE behind the scenes story. In fact, she is not wicked. She has been the victim of prejudice and manipulation. When things get out of hand, and she can no longer stand by and witness the atrocities that are happening by the Wizard of Oz and his henchmen, she breaks free - and THEN, she is labeled as Wicked. Not because she is evil, but rather because she is unwilling to be a pawn in the schemes of the evil any longer.

This is a truly fabulous twist on the original tale, and I highly recommend that you enjoy the full story! It's filled with so much comedy, romance, thrills, and the TWIST!

This song is the scene where she dons the cape, and places a magic spell to fly...(enchants a broom). It is an unforgettable scene. Though this recording is WONDERFUL - please do yourself a favor and youtube that suggestion with Eden Espinosa! hehee

You will feel ALL the raw power in her voice and SOAR when she LITERALLY defies gravity at the end!!!


Flower Duet from Leo Delibes' opera 'Lakme'




Now, if you did have any thoughts of the funny cartoon opera characters, let these two gorgeous "flowers" remove any doubts that opera singers can be powerful, graceful, delicate and gorgeous!

Inthis one... instead of telling you about the summary of the opera, I'd rather leave you to just enjoy the music.

The story of Anna Netrebko's introduction to Opera is SO interesting. But, due to this last year with politics and other issues that have a tendency to taint the art - I'd just rather you enjoy this beautiful work with her duet with Elina Garanca! If you are too tantalized for gossip, hahaha - feel free to use your favorite search engine to be enthralled!

For me, I would rather just stare at these beauties as they perform like angelic songbirds! hehehe

EDIT:

After taking a peak at several of the more recent articles about Anna, I understand and support the stance of the Metropolitan Opera House in their choice of featured singers.



Once again, @ablaze has drawn me into this weekly challenge and I LOVE IT!!! I never know what I'm going to write - and then, it hits! No idea if I'll have something to offer next week, but even if I don't - you should! Join in this #threetunetuesday community and bring three songs for us to sample!



Theatre image from Canva Pro

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
40 Comments
Ecency