Nostalgia: My post for Ladies of Hive Community Contest #91

Nostalgia

Hello everyone! I have decided to participate in Ladies of Hive Community Contest #91 because there is a song that has been, for me and for my group of fellow students in 2002, very special because it brings to our lives pleasant memories and feelings of joy and longing for the times of youth, innocence, rebellion, and adventure.

In 2002 I was part of a study group in college. I was part of a study group. There were nine of us in this group, six women and three men, all the same age, between 19 and 21 years old. The group started to facilitate the study of the different subjects we studied in our career. This was difficult for us because one of the purposes of the curriculum was to be able to speak English fluently. All the subjects were taught in this language, with the purpose of creating in us, the students, an environment similar to that of living in an english speaking country.

One afternoon, one of my teachers presented us with an activity to exercise verb tenses and improve pronunciation. The song I bring to this post is precisely the song the teacher used in his exercise. Its rhythm contradicts all the melancholy feeling it expresses in its lyrics. It was a hit at the time it was released, but for us, it was the first of many in the official repertoire of songs at study meetings, karaoke parties, on car rides among others. From time to time this song is posted on different apps by some of us, and it is no longer possible to listen to the song Lemon Tree by Fools Garden without a feeling of nostalgia for those happy days as a student.

With this post I invite @neli19 to join to Ladies of Hive community.

Thanks for reading my post!

Lemon Tree Lyrics (Fools Garden Band, 1995)

Source

I'm sitting here in the boring room
It's just another rainy Sunday afternoon
I'm wasting my time
I got nothing to do
I'm hanging around
I'm waiting for you
But nothing ever happens and I wonder
I'm driving around in my car
I'm driving too fast
I'm driving too far
I'd like to change my point of view
I feel so lonely
I'm waiting for you
But nothing ever happens and I wonder

I wonder how
I wonder why
Yesterday you told me 'bout the blue blue sky
And all that I can see is just a yellow lemon-tree
I'm turning my head up and down
I'm turning turning turning turning turning around
And all that I can see is just another lemon-tree
I'm sitting here
I miss the power
I'd like to go out taking a shower
But there's a heavy cloud inside my head
I feel so tired
Put myself into bed
While nothing ever happens and I wonder

Isolation is not good for me
Isolation I don't want to sit on the lemon-tree

I'm steppin' around in the desert of joy
Baby anyhow I'll get another toy
And everything will happen and you wonder
I wonder how
I wonder why
Yesterday you told me 'bout the blue blue sky
And all that I can see is just another lemon-tree
I'm turning my head up and down
I'm turning turning turning turning turning around
And all that I can see is just a yellow lemon-tree
And I wonder, wonder

I wonder how
I wonder why
Yesterday you told me 'bout the blue blue sky
And all that I can see, and all that I can see, and all that I can see
Is just a yellow lemon-tree

Here you can watch original Lemon Tree Video

Credits

Photo at the top of this post by Javier Trueba on unsplash.com/es. It was edited using Canva

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency