GIVE US PEACE , WE ARE ALSO HUMANS (LOH103)

SOURCE

Searching hive to look for what to write, then I remembered I usually do the ladies of hive contest, which I haven't done in a while, so I clicked on the ladies of hive community and saw this, at first I was like WTH!!! Then it made me remember I once heard a similar kind of thing from someone close.

On 13-Sep-2022, an Iranian woman (Mahsa Amini) was arrested for wearing her headscarf too loosely, which allowed a little of her hair to be visible. Witnesses attest that she was severely beaten while in police custody. At one point, she collapsed, but it was two hours later before police transported her to a hospital where it was noted that she had lapsed into a coma. The police claim she had a heart attack, but there were bruises on her body, head, and face. She died three days later, never awaking from her coma. And all this was because she was careless to allow a few strands of hair to show.

What do you think about news of this sort? Do you think you could ever live in such a conservative society? Would you even consider briefly visiting such a country with such laws? How can we assist such women, who cannot afford to flee to a safe place?

Here's her story,
Helen got married at a young age, and because her husband wanted to make her educated, he decided to foot her bills for school, though most people can't do that, for that I give him the kudos, After Helen finished her BSc, she already had 3 kids, so with her working, she decided to go for her masters, which she paid by herself. but before the master's program, the husband would at any opportunity beat her like she was a thief, one of the reasons I heard of was, She had gone to make her hair, and on seeing her with the hair, the husband pounced on her and dragged her by the hair, why? Because she looked too good with the braids, that day he beat her and dragged her outside to sleep in the cold, he locked her outside.

On further questioning on why he did that to her, he said he was the one who cleaned her up from the gutters that he was her head, he didn't want her to make friends or interact with people, and he doesn't want her to make her hair ever, she should go on a low cut, which she quietly did, till date shes still on the low cut, but she's no longer married to him, even the house she used her money in building, she left it for him, just to make herself be at peace.

Now she has five kids with him, but none have accepted their father, they all moved out with their mother, because they knew she had suffered from his hands. She's now on her own, into politics, she's doing well, she's a teacher at a reputable university, and she has also achieved more things without her husband.

What I am trying to say is in a country like ours, there's a lot of misfortune women go through on a daily basis, and when you look at what the cause of this might be, it may be something that doesn't even worth being talked over. What is most saddening about the above news is that her hair was slightly showing beneath the scarf, it really doesn't sound like something that one should arrest, and still beat up the woman for just that, it really is surprising.

And if that is their law in society, then the country or society has failed in many ways, I would not like to visit such a place, because someone like me who doesn't even like tying my hair, cause I get headaches from it , so why will I try to visit such a place? even if I was given a free sponsored scholarship that I have been dreaming of getting I will never go to such a place.

How can we assist such women, who cannot afford to flee to a safe place?

What I think about this is, I guess there should be a kinda outreach to the government of such a place, like a kind of protest against female violence, I believe if there's something like this, then there will be a change in the mentality of people in that society, and also women should be given a voice to clear themselves from such brutality.
i invite @constanceitohan to participate.

Thanks for stopping by
treasuree
😍😍

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency