Trying out a new recipe.//.A culinary disaster (loh #207)

Sunday afternoons are perfect for doing something creative, and cooking is no exception. I'm not really a fan of cooking but I love being creative with my food and trying out new recipes. On this particular Sunday afternoon, I was craving spaghetti and decided to make a new recipe with spaghetti. I scoured the internet for inspiration and I came across an easy and delicious-looking recipe. I can't remember the particular name of the recipe I use but it is basically tomatoes, garlic and spaghetti.

(this image is AI-generated)

Since it was easy to make I started immediately and eagerly. I got my spaghetti, and all the other necessary ingredients except for parsley. I opted for a common alternative which is basil. I have seen something like basil in my neighbour's garden. So I decided to get the basil leaves from her. I went to her compound but unfortunately, she wasn't around, but I met her daughter at home. I kindly asked her if I could cut a few leaves from her garden but on getting there I realized that the plant I thought was basil was an unfamiliar plant. I asked her again if the plant was good for cooking and she assured me that her sister uses it to cook.

I happily cut a stem of the plant and went on with my cooking. I already knew the food would be a disaster when I already overcooked the tomato sauce. I put in the boiled spaghetti and stir anyway. Now it was time to put the leave as the finishing touch. I was so much sceptical about using the leave. I tried to smell and taste the leaves but it tasted weird and I thought maybe it would taste better when cooked. I even went to the point of doing a picture search on Google and Pinterest. The results were confusing so I summoned all the courage and faith I could and chopped the mysterious leaves and put them into the dish.

So I was done. The food aroma was ok as far I can remember so I had a little hope it would turn out nice.After taking a bit, I realized that the leaves infused a bitter and lemony taste which was weird to my taste buds. I took another bit not totally convinced and I realized that the only thing I could do if I wanted to eat the food was to swallow it.

I was hungry and I had to swallow the food and vow to not make the mistake of using any ingredients I had no idea about. Perhaps, It might have tasted better if I had been used to the lemony taste of food but for me, it was a culinary disaster.
The experience was so heartbreaking and disappointing, like having high hopes for a movie and it ends up being a total waste of time. I tried to remove as much of the tiny chopped leaves from the food but to no avail. I couldn't afford to waste the food, so I swallowed my pride…… and the spaghetti


This is my entry for Loh contest #207


Thank you for visiting my blog ❤️


All images are mine otherwise stated

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center