What food makes you feel better when you are feeling sick?

sick.png

Hi, the topic is very appropriate for this time of year - winter. Many of us catch a cold or the flu - the usual not COVID kind and are uncomfortable for a few days.

When we were little (kids) we relied on our mom to make us feel good. She made us different juices, foods and compresses to bring down our fever or make our headaches go away. Now that we are grown up, we have to take care of ourselves.

What saves me when I feel bad is definitely chicken soup. I add a lot of vegetables, and spices to it to make it more tasty, filling and helpful. Recently I've been adding cayenne pepper to it...

Another thing that helps me is drinking tea - especially peppermint. It helps me to breathe better if my nose is stuffy and helps to calm my stomach if it is upset too.

These are my tricks I use when I'm sick. Not to deny that I take aspirin and paracetamol, but they are still not foods. I warm up, and wait until I'm sweating. That helps a lot, even without having a fever. I make sure I drink more fluids no matter what - yes clearly no fizzy drinks because they irritate the throat at this point, but juices, water and tea are my main drinks at this point!

I hope you enjoyed my treatment regimen, I'd love to read your methods on how to feel better when we're sick too

mommy.png

The images have been created with Canva

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments