The Cutlery Conundrum!!! #189


pexels-photo-1248472.jpeg

Whenever I remember something I have been forewarned on before and I meet myself in a silly scenario, I smile mischievously in my mind and promise myself to change or do as I was told to avoid a next time mistake but this doesn't make me comply which I keep getting into the same mistake over again and I just laugh it out as I make a mess of myself.

The thing is, I have been advised and many times warned severally by my two sisters to learn how to use the cutleries so that it won't look strange to me in public. I just overlook it and move on with my business.

"What will make me use the cutlery?", I would ask myself thinking such an opportunity will not show up. This is one reason I usually order my meal to be brought to my doorstep or other times, I buy the meal and request a takeaway so I can devour it while alone without anyone watching me.


There are different scenarios where I have laughed at myself because of embarrassment and for me not to feel sad about it in public, I pretend to go with the flow and move away from the scene as quickly as I can.

I will be sharing this particular one that happened a long time ago.

I was still in the University then. I decided to take myself out on a treat and I also planned to eat out for the first time instead of bringing my meal home. I got to the eatery, got my order of rice and chicken with some cutleries; fork, spoon and knife.


pexels-photo-812860.jpeg

I said to myself, "what will I do with all this when I can use only a spoon to eat in peace?" I smiled and grabbed the food to my side while positioning the table to fit my seat. I looked around to see if no one was watching and I was lucky that there were not many people in the eatery.

The place was so dry that I could count the empty tables. Perhaps, heaven knew I was coming to eat and knowing what could happen next, made people not be much, and also that the embarrassment won't be much that I wouldn't be able to handle 😅


I had finished the rice and was remaining the chicken. I used my spoon to test the softness of the chicken but I was disappointed when the spoon couldn't cut the meat, it was a bit hard and I needed something better than the spoon to cut it. I stared at the knife and fork, smiled and thought to myself that I wouldn't have a choice but to go for the fork first. I was still for some moment and was looking around to see if no one was watching me. I looked up to confirm where the cameras were stationed feeling there might be people in the office watching my state of confusion.

Then a thought popped into my mind to check YouTube on how to use the cutleries. So, I did and watched a few videos and I got how to use it in my head and decided to practice stylishly so no one would know what was going on with me. When I tried cutting the meat with the knife holding it in my right hand while the fork was on my left, I was in a war, struggling to win over the meat because it seemed it knew all along and decided not to cooperate with me.


pexels-photo-8696477.jpeg

The more I added pressure into cutting it, the louder the knife and fork sounded colliding with each other as they were missing the target and hitting the plate. Whenever it sounded, I looked my left and right to see if I had attracted anyone.


When I got tired and have used all my strength, I was able to eat the crumbs from the chicken that fell on the plate. Eventually, I packed the chicken and rolled it in the serviette that was given to me, put it inside my purse and stood up to leave. I said to the chicken, "we shall meet at home." I stood up and left, was just smiling within till I got down the stairs. I got home ready to devour the chicken with full force and activated the frustration I had earlier with the poor chicken. I can't afford to leave the chicken behind and wasting my money.


Image 1 || 2 || 3

Thanks for your time reading. Looking forward to your interaction.

20240101_131050_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center