LOH # 207 - Kitchen Chaos: When Cooking Goes Awry

Hello, beautiful people! Welcome to my blog. It's a pleasure to have you in this space. Once again, welcome 🤗

I don't think there's a lady that hasn't had their share of a kitchen mishap, and I am no exception. Except for ladies that don't enter the kitchen frequently.

There are times that cooking would embarrass you and make you feel like it was your first time entering the kitchen. I am very sure even seasoned cooks have had days they had to question their culinary skills.

There was this particular time my in-laws called to tell my husband and me that they were coming to pay us a visit. To show my cooking skills and to prove to them that I am feeding their son well, I opted to prepare edikaikong soup and pounded yam (a classic local Nigerian delicacy from my husband's nativity) for them.

This is a delicacy I make often, so there was not anything to worry about as I was overconfident in myself.

While preparing the soup, everything came out well, and I was proud of myself.

Then I went ahead to boil the yam; after that, I put a portion of the yam in the mortar and started pounding. To my greatest amazement, the pounded yam was not coming out as expected. At first, I thought the yam I selected into the mortar were not the best options, so I removed the yam into a cooler and tucked it away.

By the time I had pounded the second set of yams and history was obviously repeating itself, I became nervous and confused. An hour ago, I had boasted over the phone to my in-laws of the assorted delicacy they would be to upon their arrival. An hour later, here was I with two sets of pounded yam that were a total departure from what I had in mind when I made that call.

Who would believe I was a victim of circumstance and not an inexperienced cook, at least having had a proven track record with pounded yam? Who would I tell my story to? Who would understand my situation? It was in that confusion that my husband rushed to the kitchen with news that our visitors were about five minutes away from the house. After narrating to him my predicament, we resorted to preparing EBA, just to save the day.

Thank God we were done preparing the meal before the doorbell rang.

Trust me, till date, whenever my husband and I remember that incident or it pops up in a conversation, we have a good laugh, but I can tell you for free, it was not funny while it lasted.

images from meta Al

THANK YOU FOR READING TO THE END 🤗

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center