Life at the littlest - LOH 205

I was at a programme on Sunday and I sat next to a woman and her son, a very young boy. Halfway into the programme, the little boy ate a biscuit and took water after. For a while, he was okay. But sometime after he ate that biscuit, he said to his mom 'Mom, I want more', just loud enough for us around him to hear. As a response, his mom opened her bag and showed him that it had finished. And she said 'Don't disturb me. I don't even have money to buy another one.' She said that and the boy quietly sat back down. Swallowing his hunger.

I quietly watched what transpired between them. Sad that the little boy wanted something his mom could not afford and at the same time, marvelled at how he didn't pester his mom again after she said she didn't have money to buy it. Few minutes after what transpired, a lady behind me signalled the boy over. She gave him a thousand naira cash to go get himself a biscuit. Before he did though, he took permission from his mother to spend the money, which she gave him. Then, the lady wrote a cheque to the boy's mother. The mother was startled when she saw the amount written in the cheque.

She was given a cheque of twenty thousand naira, which is about $13. She bowed her head and cried. The little boy, oblivious of what was going on, came back happily munching away on his biscuit. He didn't even get himself a drink and at this point, I wondered if he was so disciplined or life had dealt with him that way. The amount he had at his disposal was enough to get him about two drinks but he didn't buy one. Instead he brought back the change and showed it to his mother. The boy's story isn't what I want to focus on. It's the mother's.

After crying for a while, with her head bowed, she raised her head and dabbed her eyes with her handkerchief. Then began thanking the lady profusely. I was so close to joining the boy's mom in crying. The woman's happiness was so infectious. And to think that they were both strangers to each other, It all felt so fulfilling. I wasn't the one that gifted the woman but it was wonderful seeing her so happy.

Source

When I looked at the ladies of hive prompt for this week, I smiled remembering my experience this Sunday. And I knew my answer immediately.

The question says:

Maybe you would start by listing material things, but think with your heart and really become aware: Do you have the life you want to have? What are you still missing?

I'm not living the life I want yet. I'm not even halfway close to it. Soon enough, I want to be able to help people. I want to have enough to put smiles on people's faces. I want to live a life where I will give people a reason to smile. A life where I will make an impact on that of those around me. That is the life I want. I want to help people, not only financially, but emotionally. I'm incorporating it into my lifestyle currently, with those around me. Friends, family and even strangers. Emotionally? I love being there for people around me when they need someone the most. Financially? I'm still a student but I support the little way I can.

There is this innate satisfaction that comes with seeing others happy and knowing you supported and helped them achieve whatever it is they are happy about. I love it. I love the bright smile I see on people's faces when something good is done for them. To me, life is meaningful when you make it so. There is this innate satisfaction that comes with seeing people happy. Even if I don't have anything to give, I have my smile to give. And I do that every time. If my smile would make your day, so be it. If my hug would make your day, so be it. If the measly change I have is what will make your day, so be it.

That, I think is the life I want to live. A fulfilling life for myself and for others. And I believe with time, I will achieve it both financially and emotionally.


It's the first day of the month of October and it's Hive Power Up Day. I have never participated in this and I decided to do so today. To give back to the platform that has given me so much. From amazing friends to knowledge and to earnings, I've gotten a lot from hive.

I powered up 10 hive today. I know I've not grown like many of the people I joined but it's the little things that matter isn't it? Anyways, this is me participating in Hive Power Up Day for the month of October.

That's all for today. Do have a blissful month of October. And to my fellow Nigerians, happy Independence.


Unsourced images are screenshots taken by me during the powerup.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center