Weird food?

@kaerpedium is hosting the

35th EDITION of the
LADIES OF HIVE COMMUNITY CONTEST

The contest question that attracted my attention is

2️⃣ What’s the weirdest food you’ve eaten and what was the experience like?

img_0.793004666917279.jpg

I really can't think of any food that I have eaten that I didn't like, or would consider weird. Except raw tomatoes, but obviously that's just me and not something that the rest of the world considers weird.

When traveling to other countries the opportunity is always there to try new and unusual foods. Trying grilled octopus in Greece was a new and delightful experience and it immediately became a new favorite, but Congee for breakfast in Taipei must be an acquired taste.

While traveling in the south of France my travel partner saw this menu item salade de foie de poulet and in an attempt to show off the little bit of French that he knew, he ordered what he thought was a chicken salad. The look of absolute horror on his face when the waiter set down a plate with a few romaine lettuce leaves heaped high with chicken livers was memorable! As soon as the waiter departed he said 'I cannot eat this'.

I gave one last look at my beautiful salade paysanne and only had a moment to appreciate the lettuce, ham, Roquefort, walnuts, potatoes and perfect soft boiled eggs and be grateful that it had green beans, but no tomatoes before I heard myself offering to trade with him.

I had never seen that many chicken livers in one place in my entire life, and thankfully they were quite delicious! They had been fried with bacon and onions and dressed with balsamic vinegar and although it was a protein heavy way to start a late night meal and I wasn't able to finish them all, it was a food adventure for me!

If I ever have the opportunity I might even order it myself next time!

10% of the earnings of this post go to the Ladies of Hive Community.

Remember to set beneficiaries to show your support for the contests and communities that you enjoy.

All comments written on my posts, and any posts in Feathered Friends, Shadow Hunters, and Ladies of Hive Community posts receive staked ARCHON tokens.

img_0.9186812742780536.jpg

img_0.2164631801752323.jpg

uxeumm.png

Make a shadowy guess in the contest hosted by @eolianpariah!

🌞Guess the Shadow🌞

When you are out Shadow Hunting, remember to go Reflection Hunting and enter @annephilbrick 's contest, too!

Reflection Hunters contest

img_0.3658591587697289.jpg image by @brittandjosie

Join the Shadow Hunters Community

Partnered with ARCHON
Comment and earn tokens!
Supported by @pixresteemer

Sponsored by Ecency


plumes.png

80pli5.png

by @barbara-orenya

Join the FEATHER FRIENDS Community

Enter the Show Me A Photo contest by @nelinoeva

Partnered with ARCHON
Comment and earn tokens!

Supported by Ecency


plumes.png

Partnered with ARCHON


Comment and earn tokens!

Posted using Ecency Love

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency