Let's go eat some worms!

Watching guacamole being made in Mexico.

It was made in a big stone mortar and pestle, called a 'molcajete' . The rough surface of the volcanic rock makes grinding easier.

Start with some garlic, salt, and hot chili peppers.

Squeeze in some fresh lime juice.


Add ripe avacado

Mash everything together

Add some diced tomatoes, diced red onion, and some freshly chopped cilantro.

Eat on tortilla chips.

Customise to taste, perhaps adding cheese, cucumber, or more hot pepper, more salt?

And if you are feeling very adventurous, top it all off with some crunchy agave worms!

There are many kinds of gusano de maguey (Agave Worms), but usually only the Chinicuil Gusano is eaten. This “red worm.” is highly prized and expensive . They are actually not worms at all, but the larvae of the moth Comadia redtenbacheri. They're nutritious and considered a delicacy.

My daughter-in-law ate 3, but my son ate a dozen of them! They asked if I would eat them, and I said I would probably try one, as long as it wasn't wiggling. I might have to close my eyes though!

Have you ever eaten bugs or worms?

all photos are from my family albums

5% of this posts rewards goes to @ecency
5% of this posts rewards go to @hive-124452

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now