LOH 120 - Celebrating 30+ years of friendship


Gayle is on the left and I'm on the right.

My best friend and I met the day I moved into my college dorm. She was a year ahead of me in school and lived next door. I will never forget her showing up in our open doorway and saying, "Hi, I'm Gayle." It's not many words, but they started our now 30+ years of friendship.

While we were in college we were practically inseparable except for when we had to each be in our respective classes. Since we've been out of college we've squeezed in time together on weekends, weeks together on vacation and more.

In those 30+ years we've dealt with losses together. Her dad, my mom, jobs, relationships, and I'm sure more. But, we've also been together to celebrate the high points. Graduations, new jobs, and loads and loads of travel.

We've traveled the world together on cruises and vacations. She is a licensed travel agent and once even planned everything in advance so that she had me open a box with our Disney Magic Bands in them and told me we had to be at the airport in 3 hours. IT WAS AWESOME!

Over the next two years, we both celebrate one of those birthdays that ends with a 0 so we're planning some additional fabulous adventures together. So, this year, we bought airfare - not for one another but to spend time with one another which is the most precious gift you can give someone.


šŸ“° Want to make sure you never miss a story from me? Subscribe to my newsletterā€Š-ā€ŠI send out a fresh new article and do a round up of everything I published that week. It releases for free every Monday morning.

This story is in response to the Ladies of Hive contest #120

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments