Cooking chronicles: Macaroni disaster[LOH #207]

We all have our different stories to share, and today, I share with you all a very funny kitchen story.

1️⃣ Share your most memorable/recent kitchen story, maybe a meal that went bad, joint cooking with a partner or friend, or a kitchen mishap. Happy or sad kitchen story, let's have it.

Like I have shared here with you all before, while growing up cooking was never my thing; I could literally do other chores without getting tired, but don’t ever ask me to cook.
Just to avoid cooking I went as far as bribing my sisters to cook in my place back then; yes, it was that bad.

image.jpeg

My Dad always warned me against such an attitude and was scared I was going to be a total mess in the kitchen department when I grew older but thank God I got a hang of cooking eventually.

So before my transformation, I had so many funny cooking episodes, and worthy of note is making the worst macaroni ever to date. Before making macaroni, I always remember that incident.

On that faithful day, I went to my Aunt’s house for a casual visit, I had fun with my cousins as we cracked jokes, laughed and I loved every bit of it that I didn’t want to go home but that changed the moment my Aunt asked me to make macaroni for me and my cousins. In her words “IB make Jollof macaroni for everybody.” Before I had the chance to object, she already left in a hurry.

I stared at the kitchen and my cousins, and I shook my head as I didn’t want to embarrass myself in the presence of my cousins, who held me in high esteem.

So I suggested we eat noodles instead of macaroni but they all objected by repeating the same words their mum had said.
I knew I was going to be screwed that day because my sisters weren’t there to help me out.

I tried convincing them about opting for noodles but they were hell-bent on having macaroni. I had no choice but to make macaroni for them or so I thought.

image.jpeg
source

I took a leap of faith that day and I began to make the macaroni. I blamed my Aunt for putting me in such a tight corner but I eventually made a decision to blow her mind, lol, ladies and gentlemen I blew my own mind😂😂😂

I was so careful not to get anything wrong but I ended up making everything wrong.

At first, the jollof macaroni was looking really great and I was beginning to applaud myself for killing it against all odds😂😂

So, while the macaroni cooked, I kept adding water as I thought the water wasn’t enough, only to discover that I was ruining everything. I waited and waited for the water to dry and the more it dried the soggier it became.
I stared at the pot over and over and the macaroni wasn’t looking like the usual macaroni I knew and I silently prayed for a miracle.

image.jpeg
source
The moment I tasted the macaroni I screamed, it wasn’t only soggy it tasted like crap, I stared at the big pot of crap I made and I just wanted to disappear into thin air.
I was so ashamed of myself that I stood there staring at the pot and not knowing if I should laugh, cry, or escape.

“How do I tell my cousins I ruined their lunch?”
“How do I tell my Aunt that I made crap?”

I sat on the kitchen floor and thought about my life as I knew I wasn’t going to hear the last of it from my Aunt neither would my cousins forget the incident in a hurry.
Recounting this event sounds funny now, but you see when it happened? It was a disaster.

What about you? Do you have any recent or memorable kitchen or cooking stories? I’d love to read about them in the comment section.

All images are mine except otherwise stated.

Thanks for stopping by
Loads of Love🥰🥰
XOXO</div

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center