Cooking Almost Gone Wrong

Source

Hello ladies, it's been a while since I wrote in this community, but when I saw some of the ladies' posts about their kitchen experiences, I couldn't help but laugh at some funny kitchen tales I read, and I decided to also tell my own kitchen story.

Share your most memorable/recent kitchen story, maybe a meal that went bad, joint cooking with a partner or friend, or a kitchen mishap. Happy or sad kitchen story, let's have it.

Well, I visited an old friend that we hadn't seen in a long time, and John had gotten all these ingredients and wanted to make a rice dish, but he didn't opt for the normal rice and stew or even jellof rice, but said he wanted to make fried rice.

His excuse was that he was so excited that I was coming over that he wanted to try something nice so we could eat; he's one of the guys I know who is all out for home-cooked meals; he rarely eats out. But it happened that he got occupied with some work and didn't get to go to the market on time, so by the time I got there, he was just prepping the ingredients. He welcomed me but apologized that the meal wasn't ready yet and that I would have to wait awhile, I didn't mind, I just asked what I could help with, he initially refused, but after some persuasion, he then came out clean to me that he had never prepared this particular kind of rice before, that he wanted to watch from YouTube to make it.

I laughed and laughed and asked why he didn't go for something he was familiar with; he said it was excitement and wanting to show off. I then offered to make the food, I think this was my first mistake. He told me about the rice he had, that it was a local rice, and that it gets soft quickly.

After we had finished prepping the ingredients, I started the cooking proper, with him hailing me as the aroma from the frying pan filled the entire kitchen, I was all smiles and told him to calm down and save the praises for when he would actually eat the food.

b09dec54-893a-4221-85dd-4ded75343f81-1_all_2353.jpg

So while I precooked the rice, I didn't let it cook for long due to his earlier warning. I made the veggies sauce that was to be mixed with the rice and it was all shades of beautiful and delicious. By the time I had finished precooking the rice, I then added the veggies suace to the rice and added just a little the chicken broth to the mix and a little water, I left it to cook for a while.

By the time I came back to check on the rice, it was almost dry and the rice wasn't cooked well, more like the grains were still a bit strong. At this point, I began panicking, and I had to reduce the heat source, add a little more water, and balance up the taste by adding a few more spices.

I started sweating at this point because one of John's friend had just arrived and had been complimenting the aroma of the food and was happy that his lunch was covered for the day.

I kept checking on the rice to make sure the heat was light so that it could evenly cook and not get burnt. After some minutes, I checked on it, and to the glory of God, it was okay; the taste was yummy, and it was properly cooked. I heaved a sigh of relief and dished for everyone.

At the dining table, both boys kept hyping and praising my culinary skills, in my mind I kept saying thank you Jesus.

That was how I was saved from an almost kitchen disaster. Have you been in this situation before? I would like to read how you handled it, or if you panicked like I did, please feel free to drop your comments.

All images are mine except otherwise stated

Thank you for stopping by❤

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center