Sacrifice or responsibility? - LOH Community Contest #175 [ENG-ESP]

ENGLISH

Hello everybody, this week I wasnt really feeling inspired enough to write anything... Then I really thought about this week's questions. One in particular:

1️⃣ A Woman is always expected to make sacrifices for her family. Have you ever sacrificed anything important for your loved ones and never spoken about it? Would you like to share your story with us?

It took me a while to let that sink in because homestly some things don't really feel like a 'sacrifice' to me. I actually think they're part of being a responsible adult regardless of gender. Men and women have to own challenges and what makes a family functional is that everyone has a role.
As women we are expected to play certain role, but aren't we all? Every family has its own unspoken rules. But then it hit me... Earlier this year I was severely sick, and all I wanted to do was lay down and be miserable in peace (if that makes sense). I needed sleep, rest... But I am a single mom, so I had to just find strength some how and be there for my little girl. Motherhood has no pause, no recess. I had to wake up early, be active, tend to her needs... And that felt like an enormous sacrifice.
But that is part of my work as a mom, I have a bunch of responsibilities and that is part of being a grown up, that is the wat I see it. Calling it sacrifice would be kinda like playing victim in a way, and I'm not, I'm just grateful to have my small family and that is all.

ESPAÑOL

Un saludo a esta comunidad, ésta semana no me habia sentido particularmente inspirada a escribir... Luego me sente a pensar en las preguntas de esta semana. Una pregunta en particular:

1️⃣Es esperado que una mujer sienpre haga sacrificios por su familia. ¿Alguna vez has sacrificado algo importante por tus seres queridos y nunca lo has mencionado? ¿Compartirías tu historia?

Me tomó un tiempo asimilar eso porque honestamente algunas cosas no se sienten como sacrificio. De hecho pienso que es parte de ser un adulto responsable independientemente del genero. Hombres y mujeres tienen sus retos y lo que hace una familia funcional es que cada quien desempeña un rol.

Como mujeres se espera qoe desempeñemos un rol, pero ¿Acaso no es así para todos? Cada familia tiene sus propias reglas. Luego vino a mi... A principios de este año estuve sumamente enferma, y yo lo unico que queria era acostarme y ser infeliz tranquilamente (si es que tiene sentido eso). Necesitaba dormir, descansar... Pero soy mama soltera, así que tenia que buscar fuerzas de algún modo para estar alli para mi pequeña.
La maternidad no tiene pausas, recesos. Tuve que levantarme temprano cada dia, estar activa para atender a las necesidades de mi hija... y eso se sentia como un enorme sacrificio.
Pero es parte de mi trabajo como mamá, tengo un sinfin de responsabilidades y es parte de ser adulto, asi es como yo lo veo. Llamarlo sacrificio sería como hacerme la víctima de algún modo, y no lo soy, simplemente estoy agradecida de tener mi pequeña familia y eso es todo.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now