Too salty, too sugary- LOH 207 #contest

Hello, ladies of the hive; welcome to my blog. Hope you are having a lovely Sunday

One bright and beautiful Sunday morning, why everybody was preparing for the Sunday service, getting ready to go to church or do some laundry.

I woke up that morning feeling very tired and weak, with no single strength.
It was as if strength was drained from my body but I can't afford to miss service.

I slowly got up from the bed and straight to the bathroom to brush my teeth. I could see everybody in the house getting busy and preparing to leave for church.

I went to the kitchen after brushing my teeth to make breakfast. Normally, we do go to church without eating until after service, but Dad asked me to prepare breakfast for reasons best known to him that morning.

pexels-sergei-starostin-15862958-28835213.jpg
Source

I boiled water on the electric cooker while slicing potatoes into a blow. I was going to make fried potatoes and pap for breakfast, it was the easiest and available food at that time.

They would have allowed me to rest and carry their usual empty stomach to church, but they just had to tempt themselves that morning.

I made the pap and fried the potatoes. Set the table, while humming a song, I was gradually getting strength.

Everybody was seated for breakfast when my father took a spoon of pap to his mouth and frowned. I asked him if he was okay, and my father said yes, that it seemed like I added too much sugar.

He then said we should all taste it; maybe it is from his taste buds. When we all tasted it, we echoed in one voice.

Salt!!

My father burst out laughing at us. It turns out that my father tasted it and found out that I had added salt instead of sugar, and he refused to tell us, urging us to drink it with a smirk on his that I had added too much sugar.

My cousins and siblings, who liked sugar a lot, rushed to have a taste and were disappointed. I have never seen my father laugh at us the way he did that day.

When we made to leave the dining table, he asked who would drink the pap. We should sit down and start drinking it. Every day is not a sugar day, and today, God decided to discipline us for trying to break the Sunday rules of fasting and eating after service.

That is how we drank salty pap and milk with fried potatoes before going to church. In fact, we thought that it was over; we went to church.

After service, when we came back home, my dad decided to make lunch himself, asking us to sit and enjoy his special.

pexels-n-voitkevich-6275096.jpg
Source

We were eagerly waiting for the special my father was preparing, my father is a very good cook, but he refused to allow anybody to assist him.

When the food was ready, another round of surprise was waiting for us. Can today's cooking get any better?
You guys can imagine what was presented to us.

My father made yam and egg sauce; the morning time after the mishap, I forgot to keep the sugar on the dining table and the salt in the kitchen cabinet.

So Guess, what!, yes your guess was right. My father added sugar instead of salt to the yam and sauce. I don't know how I will describe the taste but it wasn't that bad but weird.

We laughed at my dad, not him laughing at us this time around. My mom said, God has finally blessed us with sugar as we missed it in the morning another round of laughter followed.

In fact, we have to use different containers to differentiate our sugar and salt to avoid another mistake.

Ladies of Hive Contest #207
Thank you for taking the time to read.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center