My Teacher / LOH Contest 78

IMG-20220413-WA0002.jpg

Hello everyone! Today I will dedicate this post as part of the Ladies of Hive Community Contest #78. Answering the following question:

We have all had a person who has helped us grow. Sometimes that teacher taught us with love, other times the learning was challenging. We want you to tell us about that person who helped you in the evolution of your life, it can be a boss, a friend, an acquaintance, a co-worker, etc.

And for that I have no doubt where I should start but, I will tell it little by little.

¡Hola a todos! El día de hoy dedicaré está publicación como parte del Concurso #78 de la comunidad Ladies of Hive. Respondiendo a la siguiente pregunta:

Todos hemos tenido una persona que nos ha ayudado a crecer. A veces ese maestro nos enseñó con amor, otras veces el aprendizaje fue un reto. Queremos que nos cuentes sobre esa persona que te ayudó en la evolución de tu vida, puede ser un jefe, un amigo, un conocido, un compañero de trabajo, etc.

Y para ello no tengo la menor duda de por dónde debo empezar pero, lo iré contando poco a poco.

FB_IMG_1649820134620.jpg

FB_IMG_1649820592688.jpg

FB_IMG_1649820690538.jpg

I never liked school. Every trip there was an ordeal for me. It is ironic because I ended up studying education. I didn't like school because I had teachers with very little pedagogy to teach, they were rude and even violent with the students. I wanted to learn but I felt that no one was really willing to teach me anything. I also had very cruel classmates. So school for me was synonymous with terror. I wanted it to be a better place because deep down I really wanted to be there and enjoy the experience to the fullest.

However, I realized that if what they wanted was a dedicated student, that's what they were going to get. So I tried very hard to be that straight-A student. It paid off and I kept that attitude for studying until I got to college. Now I know that it is not the right one for when we study because we lose the true focus of it.

Throughout my life I had bad and good teachers, as I think we all have had at some point. And many of them taught me with a lot of ethics the value of knowledge and being a good human being. That is for me what is really important, teaching and learning with love. I can cite several teachers of life during my course in high school and college. They were the most beautiful academic stages of my life and where I could really develop myself. But, as I said above, I will mention one of the most multifaceted, extroverted, knowledgeable teachers who changed my life perspective, my teacher, Maria de Lourdes Rivero.

Nunca me gustó la escuela. Cada ida a ese lugar era para mí un calvario. Es irónico porque termine estudiando educación. No me gustaba la escuela porque tenía profesores con muy poca pedagogía para dar clases, eran groseros y hasta violentos con los estudiantes. Yo quería aprender pero, sentía que nadie estaba dispuesto realmente a enseñarme algo. Además tenía compañeros muy crueles. Por lo que la escuela para mí era sinónimo de terror. Quería que fuera un mejor lugar porque muy en el fondo yo si quería estar allí y disfrutar de esa experiencia al máximo.

Sin embargo, me di cuenta que si lo que querían era una estudiante aplicada, eso iban a tener. Así que me esforcé muchísimo para ser esa alumna de puras A. Cosa que rindió frutos y conserve esa actitud para el estudio hasta alcanzada la universidad. Ahora sé, que no es la correcta para cuando estudiamos porque perdemos el verdadero enfoque de ello.

Tuve en toda mi vida malos y buenos profesores, como creo que a todos nos ha tocado en algún momento. Y muchos de ellos me enseñaron con mucha ética el valor del conocimiento y el de ser un buen ser humano. Que es para mí realmente lo importante, la enseñanza y el aprendizaje con amor. Puedo citar a varios maestros de la vida durante mi transcurso en el bachillerato y la universidad. Que fueron las etapas académicas más bonitas de mi vida y dónde realmente pude desenvolverme. Pero, cómo dije arriba, citaré a una de las profesoras más multifacética, extrovertida, sabía y que cambió mi perspectiva de vida, mi profesora, María de Lourdes Rivero.

FB_IMG_1649820905457.jpg

FB_IMG_1649821520940.jpg

FB_IMG_1649821003706.jpg

Professor Maria graduated from the University of Carabobo with a degree in Plastic Arts Education, in addition to other studies that certify her competencies. That is the career that I study and a particularity is that all of us who are in this mention, we know that she teaches the subject of Didactics of Plastic Arts and that she was very demanding with her students. So since I entered I was trying to prepare myself for it.

In the 9th semester, we took that subject and my group was made up of 7 people. That would be my adventure group in this odyssey. I had already seen classes with her but nothing compared to what was coming. Her andragogy, her way of teaching, was characterized by a great rigor and well marked parameters. She used teaching strategies that were linked to large groups and as a technique, Psychodrama. A technique used in theater and psychology but that little by little has entered the educational system. So everything we experienced in each class was important, was evaluated and had a meaning. In the group, each member and their actions were vital. Nothing was taken for granted, everything was studied and there were no empty spaces.

I must say that at the beginning I was very happy and excited to start the classes because I had been longing for this for years. We saw classes for half a day but that was fine with me. The first problem was that we had been out of school for a year because of the pandemic so it was hard to get back into the "lesson plan" rhythm. However even though his methods were hard, I felt we were moving forward, learning, demanding ourselves to be better, to understand, to apply, to do, everything.

La profesora María es egresada de la Universidad de Carabobo como Licenciada en Educación en Artes Plásticas, además de otros estudios, que certifican sus competencias. Esa es la carrera que yo estudio y una particularidad es que todos los que estamos en esta mención, sabemos que ella imparte la materia de Didáctica de las Artes Plásticas y que ella era muy exigente con sus estudiantes. Por lo que desde que entré estaba tratando de prepárame para ello.

Llegado el 9no semestre, cursamos dicha materia y mi grupo estaba conformado por 7 personas. Ese sería mi grupo de aventuras en esta odisea. Ya había visto clases con ella pero nada comparado a lo que se venía. La andragogía de ella, la forma de enseñar, estaba caracterizada por un gran rigor y parámetros bien marcados. Utilizaba estrategias de enseñanza que estuvieran vinculadas a grupos grandes y como técnica, el Psicodrama. Una técnica utilizada en el teatro y en la psicología pero que poco a poco a entrado en el sistema educativo. Por lo cual todo lo que vivíamos dentro de cada clase, era importante, se evaluaba y tenía un significado. En el grupo era vital cada miembro y las acciones de los mismos. Nada se daba por sentado, todo se estudiaba y no quedaban espacios vacíos.

Debo decir que al principio estaba muy feliz y entusiasmada de iniciar las clases porque dure años anhelando esto. Veíamos clases por medio día pero estaba bien para mí. El primer problema era que habíamos permanecido un año sin estudiar por la pandemia por lo que nos costó entrar de nuevo en ritmo de "plan de clases". Sin embargo aunque sus métodos eran duros, yo sentía que estábamos avanzando, aprendiendo, exigiendonos a nosotros mismos ser mejores, entender, aplicar, hacer, todo.

FB_IMG_1649821311319.jpg

FB_IMG_1649821324436.jpg

FB_IMG_1649821305945.jpg

But then came very strong days. We started having daily classes with intervals of one day off and practically all day. I got exhausted quickly. I no longer felt the same energy, yet I was still producing, reading, responding, learning. It was a whirlwind of emotions. I did very well and I did very poorly. There were times when I felt I needed to rest for a week but I knew that if that happened I would be back in a state of inertia and that would cause all my progress to falter.

We had about 50 classes. Classes where every day there was an evaluation, which we were constantly studying for what was to come. Since we were graduating from education, we also had to evaluate others and ourselves. At a certain point I felt I couldn't go any further because she was relentless but I knew she was just pushing us to our limit to overcome it and reach new standards. I believe, firmly, that she succeeded.

Not only did I come out of there with a lot more confidence about my knowledge, my professional profile and my competencies. When it was all over, we cried a lot. Gone were the endless classes, the laughter, the fatigue, the struggle, the challenge, the teacher-student relationship. I could say at that point that she and I are now equals. And I think that after classes like these there is nothing I can't do. What was to come from now on would be a piece of cake.

Pero luego vinieron días muy fuertes. Empezamos a tener clases diarias con intervalos de un día de descanso y prácticamente todo el día. Me agote rápidamente. Ya no sentía la misma energía, sin embargo, igual seguía produciendo, leyendo, respondiendo, aprendiendo. Fue un torbellino de emociones. Me fue muy bien y me fue muy mal. Hubieron momentos en que sentía que necesitaba descansar por una semana pero sabía que si eso sucedía volvería a estar en un estado de inercia y eso haría que todo mi progreso decayera.

Tuvimos alrededor de 50 clases. Clases dónde cada día había una evaluación, cosa que estábamos constantemente estudiando para lo que venía. Cómo estamos egresando de educación, también debíamos evaluar a los demás y a nosotros mismos. En cierto punto sentí que no podía más porque ella era implacable pero sabía que solo nos estaba empujando hasta nuestro límite para superarlo y alcanzar nuevos estándares. Yo creo, firmemente que ella lo logró.

No solo salí de allí con muchísima más seguridad sobre mis conocimientos, mi perfil profesional y mis competencias. Cuando acabo todo, lloramos mucho. Se habían acabado las clases eternas, las risas, el cansancio, la lucha, el reto, la relación profesor-estudiante. Podía decir a ese punto que ella y yo somos ahora iguales. Y creo que después de unas clases cómo estás no hay nada que no pueda hacer. Lo que venia de ahora en más seria pan comido.

FB_IMG_1649821172636.jpg

IMG-20211009-WA0483.jpg

IMG-20211009-WA0448.jpg

IMG-20211009-WA0488.jpg

Although many question his methods, I think he just did his job and for better or worse, what we experienced in those classes will never be forgotten. It is difficult to explain about what, how and when, about what we were doing there because I could talk for hours about it and it is difficult to transmit that experience. It would have to be lived. Also, I believe that everyone must form their own criteria and personally, I believe that chaos, pain and suffering is not necessary to learn something. So everything must be balanced.

Finally, I am very grateful to my teacher María de Lourdes because she taught me many things that remained engraved in my mind and eventually I hope to continue growing in these aspects. There are bad teachers, good teachers and then there is her, who is unique and does not hover in the ordinary, always looking for something more, to be more. I know I will not forget her and neither will she forget me. Without more to say, I will say goodbye and I hope you liked this little story about my great teacher. I send you a big hug, thanks for stopping by.

Aunque muchos cuestiones sus métodos, yo pienso que solo hizo su trabajo y para mal o para bien, lo vivido en esas clases nunca se nos va a olvidar. Es difícil explicar sobre qué, cómo y cuando, acerca de qué hacíamos allí porque pudiera hablar horas sobre ello y es difícil transmitir esas experiencia. Tendría que vivirse. También, considero que cada uno debe formar su propio criterio y en lo personal, creo que no es necesario el caos, el dolor y el sufrimiento para aprender algo. Por lo que todo debe ser equilibrado.

Finalmente agradezco mucho a mi profesora María de Lourdes porque me enseñó muchísimas cosas que quedaron grabadas en mi mente y eventualmente espero seguir creciendo en estos aspectos. Hay profesores malos, profesores bueno y luego está ella, que es única y no se cierne en lo común, busca siempre algo más, ser más. Sé que no la olvidaré y ella tampoco a mi. Sin más que decir, por acá me voy despidiendo y espero que les haya gustado esta pequeña historia acerca de mi gran profesora. Les envío un fuerte abrazo, gracias por pasar por aquí.

FB_IMG_1649820857637.jpg

FB_IMG_1649820996421.jpg

FB_IMG_1649821089097.jpg

Photos by me

IMG-20220406-WA0003.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center