Fighting for a dream: my experience in qualifying for the Rotary Artists' Salon [ENG/ESP]

Cs movido_polarr_2.jpg

Screenshot_20221105-023205-480.png

Source

Fighting for a dream: my experience in qualifying for the Rotary Artists' Salon

Hello to everyone in the community! Today I will dedicate this article to a work I made a month ago to opt as a participant in the annual competition of the Rotary Artists Salon. A very prestigious event in my country, Venezuela, for all those young artists who want to make their work known and get some of the prizes offered by the salon. Here I will tell you a little about this experience and how was the realization of this digital painting that I decided to print in physical Let's start!

About a month ago I knew that the contest I mentioned above was close. The truth is that I don't usually participate in many types of contests or exhibitions because I consider that I have not yet reached the level of excellence that I want in my work. However, I was tempted to do so thanks to the support of my partner and that I must start taking more risks as an artist, if I want my work to be known and how not, get financial gain from it because at all these, live art is something that every artist aspires. Beyond recognition or fame.

¡Hola a todos en la comunidad! El día de hoy dedicaré este artículo a un trabajo que realicé hace un mes para optar como participante en el concurso anual del Salón de Artistas Rotary. Un evento de gran prestigio en mi país, Venezuela, para todos aquellos jóvenes artistas que quieran dar a conocer su trabajo y obtener alguno de los premios que ofrece el salón. Aquí les comentaré un poco sobre esta experiencia y como fue la realización de esta pintura digital que decidí imprimir en físico ¡Comencemos!

Hace alrededor de un mes supe que estaba cerca el concurso que mencioné arriba. La verdad yo no suelo participar en muchos tipos de concursos, ni exposiciones porque considero que todavia no he alcanzado el nivel de excelencia que deseo en mis trabajos. Sin embargo, me ví tentada a hacerlo gracias al apoyo de mi pareja y a que debo empezar a tomar más riesgos como artista, si deseo que mi trabajo sea conocido y cómo no, obtener ganancias económicas de ello ya que a todas estas, vivir del arte es algo que todo artista aspira. Más allá del reconocimiento o la fama.

Screenshot_20221105-023146-406.png

Source

So I started with this idea of a self-portrait from when I was little. In it, I wanted to tell my story through the colors and the elements that took center stage. And even though I'm not the type of person to divulge such intimate personal experiences, for this self-portrait I had to speak for that little girl in the painting. When I was a child, I suffered some physical and sexual abuse, which marked my heart permanently. The red represents that violence, the feeling of being outraged and the blue, the deep sadness that accompanied me for so many years. However, there is a small flower in my hand, a daisy, as a symbol of my innocence and the hope I was trying to protect. That is why the painting is titled "Innocence".

I wanted to do something personal because it is what I know and what I could work with the most, as it is also a challenge to be objective in a self-portrait and not end up with a figure that did not look like me. I finally finished it and I was very nervous because the postulation was until October 10 and I had found out about it around the 1st of that month. I spent three days on it and it was a little complicated because of the electrical failures in my country due to the rains and the fact that I work directly on the phone. But I was satisfied with the results, although they say that artists are never satisfied with their work hehehehe.

Así que comencé con esta idea de un autoretrato de cuando era pequeña. En él, deseaba contar mi historia a través de los colores y los elementos que hacian protagonismo. Y aunque no soy del tipo de persona que divulga experiencias personales tan íntimas, para este autoretrato debía hablar por esa pequeña del cuadro. Cuando era pequeña, sufrí de algunos abusos físicos y de tipo sexual, que marcaron mi corazón de forma permanente. El rojo representa esa violencia, el sentimiento de ser ultrajada y el azul, la profunda tristeza que me acompañó por tantos años. Sin embargo, hay una pequeña flor en mi mano, una margarita, como símbolo de mi inocencia y de la esperanza que yo intentaba proteger. Por ello, la pintura se titula "Inocencia".

Quise hacer algo personal porque es lo que conozco y con lo que podía trabajar con mayor empeño, ya que es un reto también ser objetivo en un autoretrato y no terminar con una figura que no se pareciera a mi. Finalmente lo terminé y estaba muy nerviosa pues la postulación era hasta el 10 de octubre y yo me había enterado de ello alrededor del 1 de ese mes. Estuve tres días en ello y se complicó un poco con aquello de las fallas eléctricas en mi país por las lluvias y que trabajo directamente en el teléfono. Pero quedé satisfecha con los resultados, aunque dicen por ahí que los artistas nunca están satisfechos con su trabajo jejeje

Screenshot_20221003-001721.png

Reference/Referencia

Cs movido.png

Original

Cs movido_polarr_2.jpg

Work presented/Obra presentada

Cs movido_polarr_6.jpg

Alternative with more light/Alternativa con más luz

I was super anxious to know if it was left and they called me to take my painting to the Hesperia, the hotel where the gallery is located. But I had a problem, I had not yet printed the painting and I had just found someone to do the job. I contacted a company that prints on canvas with stretcher frame and everything, but it took them a week to get it and the next day I had to bring the work. So I went to Caracas to look for it and bring it to Valencia. I made it. Then I took the painting to the place and there were many artists, all with spectacular works. There I also met some friends and we chatted for a while about our expectations.

After the review, the final answer would be given to us on October 31, but there were 108 artists and they needed a little more time. They published the first artists (among them a friend), then on the second day they published the other batch and on the third day, they published the last ones. I was not among them. Something that obviously filled me with sadness but that I sincerely expected, for the following reasons: a disadvantage of working in digital is that if you print from RGB to RGB the color is opaque (I think they did not set it in CMYK), also the beauty of working in oil, acrylic and other painting techniques, is that they have many gestures by the texture of the impasto and brushstrokes, I only had the color and it failed. I should have investigated a little more and worked a lot more on the painting.

Estaba súper ansiosa por saber si quedaba y me llamaron para que llevara mi pintura al Hesperia, hotel donde se encuentra la galería. Pero tenía un problema, aún no había impreso la pintura y recién había encontrado quién hiciera este trabajo. Contacte a una empresa que se dedica a imprimir en lienzo con todo y bastidor pero tardaron una semana en tenerlo y al día siguiente debía llevar el trabajo. Así que fui hasta Caracas para buscarlo y traerlo a Valencia. Lo logré. Luego lleve la pintura al lugar y habían muchísimos artistas, todos con obras espectaculares. Allí también encontré algunos amigos y charlamos un rato sobre nuestras expectativas.

Luego de la revisión, la respuesta final nos las darían el 31 de octubre pero fueron 108 artistas y necesitaban un poco más de tiempo. Publicaron a los primeros artistas (entre ellos una compañera de clase), luego al segundo día publicaron la otra tanda y al tercer día, publicaron los últimos. No quedé entre ellos. Algo que obviamente me lleno de tristeza pero que sinceramente esperaba, por las siguientes razones: una desventaja de trabajar en digital es que sí se imprime de RGB a RGB el color se nota opaco (creo que no lo configuraron en CMYK), también lo hermoso de trabajar al óleo, acrílico y otras técnicas pictóricas, es que tienen muchas gestualidad por la textura del empaste y las pinceladas, yo solo tenía el color y falló. Debí haber investigado un poco más y trabajar mucho más la pintura.

IMG-20221026-WA0016.jpg

Don't worry, the contests are really like that and without being sycophantic, in Venezuela there is great quality in the artists. Next year my goal is to do a better job, better in several aspects that were lacking here and reach an ideal level for me. I invite all of you who are near Valencia to stop by the exhibition of the Rotary Artists Salon that will take place around November 22nd and will last there for about a month. You will find artists with very interesting and talented works. Likewise, I would like to send a message of love to all those who are struggling to fulfill their dreams and that is to work hard and smart, take risks, take opportunities, embrace both victories and "failures", you learn from everything and most importantly, value and love what you do. I say goodbye here but not before thanking you for reading this article, I send you a big hug and kisses. See you next time.

No sé preocupen, realmente los concursos son así y sin ser aduladora, en Venezuela hay gran calidad en los artistas. El año que viene tengo como objetivo realizar un mejor trabajo, mejor en varios aspectos que acá faltaron y alcanzar un nivel ideal para mí. Los invito a todos los que están cerca de Valencia a pasar por la exposición del Salón de Artistas Rotary que se realizará alrededor del 22 de Noviembre y durará allí por alrededor de un mes. Encontrarán artistas con obras muy interesantes y talentosas. De igual forma, quisiera enviar un mensaje de amor hacia todos los que están luchando por cumplir sus sueños y es que trabajen duro e inteligentemente, arriésguense, tomen las oportunidades, abracen tanto las victorias como los "fracasos", de todo se aprende y lo más importante, valoren y amén lo que hacen. Me despido por aquí no sin antes agradecer por leer este artículo, les envío un fuerte abrazo y besos. Nos vemos en la próxima oportunidad.

png_20221024_214324_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments