LOH Contest #191: To My Younger Self... (ENG-ESP)

If I could go back in time to guide my younger self, I would tell her to stay strong and have faith.



Si pudiera retroceder en el tiempo para guiar a mi yo más joven, le diría que se mantenga fuerte y tenga fe.




My childhood was a tumultuous one, or put more simply, it was one where I never truly got to be a child. My parents were already filing for divorce by the time I was only 3-years-old; from that moment on, my Mother obtained primary custody of me, and I experienced nothing but broken homes.



Mi infancia fue tumultuosa o, para decirlo más simplemente, una en la que nunca llegué a ser realmente un niño. Mis padres ya estaban solicitando el divorcio cuando yo tenía solo 3 años; A partir de ese momento, mi madre obtuvo la custodia primaria de mí y no experimenté más que hogares rotos.

My Mother attempted to remarry shortly after divorcing my Father, and she even had 2 children with her new husband. However, he turned out to be incredibly abusive, going so far as to push my Mother down a flight of stairs to prevent her from leaving him. I can still remember hugging myself as I listened to my Mother cry out and crash against every step, until she was left sobbing on the floor...



Mi madre intentó volver a casarse poco después de divorciarse de mi padre e incluso tuvo 2 hijos con su nuevo marido. Sin embargo, resultó ser increíblemente abusivo, llegando incluso a empujar a mi madre escaleras abajo para evitar que lo dejara. Todavía recuerdo abrazarme mientras escuchaba a mi Madre llorar y chocar contra cada paso, hasta que quedó sollozando en el suelo...




We went to live with my grandparents after that -- my maternal grandparents, including my Papa who had been sexually abusing me (and my older sister) for as long as I could remember. When we finally told our Mother about what had been happening for almost a decade, she called us "liars" and sent me to live with my Father.



Después de eso nos fuimos a vivir con mis abuelos: mis abuelos maternos, incluido mi papá, que había estado abusando sexualmente de mí (y de mi hermana mayor) desde que tengo uso de razón. Cuando finalmente le contamos a nuestra Madre lo que había estado sucediendo durante casi una década, ella nos llamó "mentirosos" y me envió a vivir con mi Padre.

I had spent almost a year living with my Father. I had started grade 4 at yet another school -- my fifth one by that time. It was May, Mother's Day, when my Mother suddenly showed up at my school, a sobbing mess. We broke down in each other's arms. The two of us got into her car for what I had believed was going to be a Mother's Day lunch. I never could have predicted that my Mother would essentially "kidnap" me, taking me to her house in a different city and refusing to let me leave. Only a few months later, when my Father arrived at her house with the police, was I finally able to leave.



Había pasado casi un año viviendo con mi padre. Había comenzado el cuarto grado en otra escuela, la quinta en ese momento. Era mayo, el Día de la Madre, cuando mi madre apareció de repente en mi escuela, llorando. Nos derrumbamos en los brazos del otro. Los dos nos subimos a su auto para lo que yo creía que sería un almuerzo del Día de la Madre. Nunca podría haber predicho que mi madre esencialmente me "secuestraría", llevándome a su casa en una ciudad diferente y negándose a dejarme ir. Sólo unos meses después, cuando mi padre llegó a su casa con la policía, finalmente pude irme.




My teenage and young adult years were no better. When left to finally make my own decisions, I made "friends" with manipulators, and ended up dating both an alcoholic, and a drug addict. Both relationships were extremely draining, toxic, and traumatizing; I ended up becoming an addict myself...



Mis años de adolescencia y juventud no fueron mejores. Cuando finalmente tuve que tomar mis propias decisiones, me hice "amigo" de manipuladores y terminé saliendo con un alcohólico y un drogadicto. Ambas relaciones fueron extremadamente agotadoras, tóxicas y traumatizantes; Terminé convirtiéndome en un adicto...

I've spent most of my life lost, alone, and suicidal... I spent most of it in a daze, unsure of anything and no purpose in life.



He pasado la mayor parte de mi vida perdido, solo y con tendencias suicidas... Pasé la mayor parte aturdido, inseguro de nada y sin propósito en la vida.




So if I could go back in time to speak with my younger self, I would tell her to keep going!



Entonces, si pudiera retroceder en el tiempo para hablar con mi yo más joven, ¡le diría que siguiera adelante!




I would tell her that it does get better, for soon she will meet a man who will treat her properly and will bless her with multiple children, each of whom will give her purpose! I would tell my younger self to be grateful for the terrible experiences, for they will mould her into an amazingly unique and strong woman unlike any that the world has ever seen!!



Le diría que mejora, porque pronto conocerá a un hombre que la tratará apropiadamente y la bendecirá con múltiples hijos, ¡cada uno de los cuales le dará un propósito! ¡Le diría a mi yo más joven que esté agradecida por las terribles experiencias, porque la convertirán en una mujer increíblemente única y fuerte como ninguna que el mundo haya visto jamás!

I would tell her not to give up, for the world cannot afford to lose such a beautiful human being...



Le diría que no se dé por vencida, porque el mundo no puede permitirse el lujo de perder a un ser humano tan hermoso...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center