The African Clitoris

#Ladies of Hive Community Contest #137
Hello πŸ‘‹ My name is Rachel and this would be my first time joining the ladies of hive contest.

images (4).jpeg
Image source: Health line
Why did I join this particular one? The clitoris is a very interesting concept and as someone from Nigeria a country in Africa I thought perhaps I share my own perspective on the clitoris, lol the African Clitoris.

First of all there's nothing like the African Clitoris but then I used that phrase because the clitoris is not a popular topic among women over here. I am a graduate and I have not had any clitoris or sexual talk with even my female friends in school, that's how weird it is to talk about something like that over here, especially with the religious bias.

My mum probably only told me once while growing up what the clitoris was and that was probably when I started having my period. It's not like she didn't want to but anything related to sex , reproductive system is usually frowned upon in our communities.
Many mothers don't feel the need to educate their daughters about such because its not something they ought to know yet, perhaps until they start bearing children. And you can't really blame them, that's what they were taught. Things like that get passed on for generations so everyone is used to just overlooking the topic.

I got to learn about the clitoris majorly while reading steamy romance novels in secondary school. At that age we read lots of steamy romance and that's where majority of us girls got our ideas on sex and the female reproductive system.
So when I saw the question, " do you think that in these times it is still a taboo to talk about female pleasure" my answer would be yes because over here, according to religion and cultural practices you are not supposed to experience or know what that is until you are married or about to.

Well lately there has been some changes in the sexual education methods and the numbers are increasing but still 5 in 10 women over here might not know where their clitoris is. I don't blame them, I didn't know I had three holes until I was in the university or something πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
And every other information I know today are from the internet and because I have a progressive view on sex and pleasure. I have watched lots of movies, series like "Sex education" , so I basically know stuffs my mum would not believe I do. And I am sure it is that way for every other lady my age currently, we know these stuffs but we must not act like we do.
I do know the clitoris is very important in determining just how satisfied you are sexually. In some countries where genital mutilation is practiced , they might never know or understand that because it has ben sliced off to prevent promiscuity.

Do I have control or leave the job to my partner? As a sexually progressive person I don't leave everything to my partner, I know myself better than him so I just need to teach him what works for me. No one knows you better than you, and I believe men also want to know how to pleasure a woman so she is equally satisfied. It's a team work, one person shouldn't be getting on the pleasure while you have to finish the rest of with a dildo or something...... perhaps I have said too muchπŸ˜‚


Thanks for readingπŸ˜πŸ’“πŸ’“

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center