Introducing BEE to a New World

Funny how it’s been days and the only thing I could think of is how to start up with an introduction of myself. Should it be descriptive, expository, or a narrative introduction, maybe I could start off with my name first and then get the flow. Here we go😃 Hi. I’m Iyaye Ibifubara Hope, definitely too long and would be difficult for one to pronounce so I would prefer being called Bee, wondering how I got Bee from my name, prior to this time my friends usually call me “Ib” but I felt it was too common so I decided to go with Bee more like, more emphasis on the letter b from Ib. Something unusual for a human name and yes I am a special “bee” on “Hive” now🥰🥰

F10685F3-C831-4AAC-A24E-24A629BAE72E.jpeg

My best friend @ibbtammy introduced me to this new space, in her words “Why don’t you try something new”. Being someone with a growth mindset I was open to big ideas and finally, here I am starting something new.

I am from the Southern region of Nigeria, where I spent my whole life with my parents and siblings, Recently I had to relocate to the Northern region of Nigeria, yes I went up north😃. I am so fond of my family, the peace and joy they bring, Do they annoy me? Hell yes!, when I’m with them I feel like running away but now that I am far away from them I just want to go back home, to the people that love and understand me, to the people that got my back no matter what.

I studied Microbiology(Virology) where I married my book for four years, I feel like a nerd right now😪. Trust me I am more of an extrovert than you could imagine. I’m undergoing my service year which is NYSC National Youth Service Corps. It’s a duration where you get to serve the country for a year after your college period. You get sent to different parts of the country to contribute in one way or the other. This is the reason for my relocation. I was sent to the Northern area of Nigeria.
BE10837F-BAF3-47AC-8670-A8E678983EA0.jpeg

Being a child who has spent all her life close to her family it was really difficult settling in, a different culture, New people, New food, New languages. I thought I would want to run home after a week but this is me, adapting really fine.

Well, I currently live in Kano which is the biggest and most populated state in the North. They are business oriented and very industrious.
It’s been my 3rd month here, and I have tried new delicacies, Amala, Tuwo, Fura, and honestly, I am still willing to try more.
BFD1212C-61CF-4AD0-9C7D-A2C4425B6E60.jpeg

When people hear of the North they are quite skeptical but honestly, it’s a different view here. No matter how civilized they are, you still get to see people use horses as a means of transportation I find this really interesting.

I was posted to Emirate School of Health Science and Technology for my Primary Assignment. I never wanted to teach. My friend would say “IB reject it, do you want to teach” but at this point, I’m doing fine with it, I have to lecture Pharmacy Students in 200level and also Food and nutrition Students in 200level, Basic microbiology, and food microbiology respectively. At first, I was nervous going with the fact I have a tiny voice, people say it’s a lovely voice since I get to turn heads whenever I speak😂😂, but I still get nervous about it. Well, it turns out I am doing great at lecturing.

Also, I am trying to learn a new language in order to blend in properly with the Northerns.
A9AE9E20-8945-4EDE-8F0F-21E8783F9BF4.jpeg

I can say for sure that I am someone who has her emotions in her sleeves. Why hide when you can let people know how you feel🙃 maybe sometimes I really need to hide it cause if there is one thing my friends would say about me is “She is always crying when she’s sad, angry, or stressed” I promise I am working on it😂.

It is easy for me to make new friends coupled with the fact that I could tolerate a lot no matter how terrible you are, but I would definitely call you to order. But trust me I love Friends no matter the race or personality.
I love the tech world, which includes designing, programming, software development, sales representative development, and AI. I find them intriguing and would love to go into one of them sooner.

Funny enough I’m not a movie person, I feel sleepy whenever a movie is about to start. So whenever I need to sleep but I can’t sleep I just need to put on a movie, then boom!! I am sleeping😂😂 funny but it works like magic.

I would choose books over movies any day, any time as I am of the opinion that writers do much more work than movie directors, creatively using words to make the reader see and feel everything happening in the world of the story is terrific. I find e-books exhausting but could stay glued to books that I can feel and hold. Maybe it’s just my thing. So whenever I see a very interesting e-book I try to print it out so I could run my fingers through the pages😁

I find it weird that I am scared of the process of giving birth to a baby but then I am a lover of babies.
In 2015, my mom had my little brother and I just graduated from High school, I think I was the happiest😂😂 I followed her to the hospital till she asked them to send me away, I grew up fond of him, I think same with him. I started taking care of him from 3months since my mom had to work. I find this strong bond with children especially when they are babies. I always want to be with them, play with them and make them feel safe, but I am so scared of having one grow inside of me🤦🏽‍♀️ I hope I overcome this fear.
6EBC6173-81EE-4DE5-B10B-6C378041C3E3.jpeg

Speaking of fear, I am scared of a lot of things that include sleeping in a dark room, hell no I can’t do this. I’m also scared of little creatures like insects especially cockroaches, they freak me out honestly I am ready to run away because of a cockroach.

I am an ambitious person and someone who is willing to try new things, therefore I am open to trying new things here and sharing my writing skills.

I can’t wait to meet new people and read through their works. I feel excited already to be on this blockchain with great minds as I have moved around a little here.
CHEERS!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center