5 More Free Items Saved From Curbside Recycling & Sold For $373 (12.5 Pounds)

I was laying in bed last night at 2:30 AM and going to skip walking outside to find stuff. Then I remembered that it was the birthday of a late "individual" that disapproved and resented what I do, so I got up, got dressed, and marched outside to prove that I will never let them win.

I did the full walk for about 2 hours and didn't find too much for once, but went to bed proud that I put the hustle in. Whenever I strike out, I'm happy for the walking as exercise. I can't lose with this mindset, except sleep.

As I'm gearing up to go outside as soon as I post this to beat the rain here, below are a few more examples of recent sales of free salvaged goods plucked from the curbs here...


Limited edition Artemide Tizio desk lamp (signed and numbered) sold for $225 cash. This had a few scuffs on it or else I'd have sought $300. The bulb worked. Easy money and a repeat find/sale. Recycled weight of roughly 8 pounds.

IMG_6387.jpg

A picture of exactly how it was found is below. These are expensive new, clearly.

IMG_6232.jpg


Engineering textbook sold online for $50. I found this on a walk around another neighborhood after dinner with a friend. I grabbed several other textbooks with it in a paper bag and some sealed new board games. One of the other textbooks will sell soon for about $140. Weight of book above with recycled packaging of 3 pounds.

s-l1600.jpeg

Proof of course. Played the new Codenames game with my friend at the park since...

IMG_4402.jpg


A smaller find, but worth saving was this stopwatch that sold online for $22 after accepting an email asking for a discount. I don't always take items in this tier to sell, actually often to donate or keep, but I opted to make a few bucks. Weight with recycled packaging of 4 ounces.

There was a second stopwatch with this that I believe I already donated to a thrift store. If not, I'll donate it when I find it around here.

s-l1600.jpeg


Staying small to show that components are good money, this Miele vacuum power nozzle circuit board sold online for $30. This came from power nozzle I could've sold for $100+ instantly, but one part was snapped that I couldn't repair. Instead of selling it as is for a discount, since it was still mostly usable, I parted it out to make more overall. This also helps more people in total and prevents the purchase of new units (the real ROI here). The weight with recycled packaging was 4.5 ounces.

s-l1600.jpeg


Lastly, this Apple Airport Express was sold online for $46. I'd found 6 of these in a bag while walking around another neighborhood after a doctor's appointment. I sold all but one in a bundle almost instantly, but forgot I had this one on my shelf. Weight with recycled packaging of 1 pound.

s-l1600.jpeg

Proof as always, all working, all gone now.

IMG_1877.JPG

PS. Clearly not flexing the dollar value here, just the ideas and variety of items I come across.


  • 5 items sold for $373.
  • No costs outside of shipping labels built into the online pricing.
  • No repairs needed.
  • Recycled weight of 12 pounds 8 ounces.


Per usual, the hard work is not in this post. It's in the time and effort to find these items, among countless others, saving them from being destroyed, and then finding them new homes. I love this process and hope that my examples motivate others to reconsider if they're doing enough to help our environment.

Other active posts if you didn't see:

Time to go out and get some more.

Thanks again!
@steemmatt

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center