Transplanting some rooted Feverfew

When I cut back my plant for the winter, it still had some green leaves on it. So I placed them in water and they rooted! I was expecting them to need to be in the bubbler, but since the cuttings were so short I was unable to place them in there so jars had to do. But seems thats fine for them and they grew alot of roots.

Since then the roots have grown and are now ready for some soil. It only took these cuttings about a week to form these roots, so glad it took little to no time to make that happen. Normally plants take longer to form them in my experience.

The cuttings were in mason jars by a sunny window with water about a 1/2 way up the glass container.

From the side its a little hard to see the roots but looking straight down into the jars you can see the white strands.

From the side close up the roots can be seen.

One more picture before I take the cuttings out of the jars and place them in dirt.

Using a small container I place some dirt in it and fill the jiffy pots with dirt half way up.

These containers are made of recycled cardboard, so I can just place the pots in the ground and they will break down quickly. Making transplanting easier.

Those roots look real healthy, now I just need to keep the pots hydrated. If the pots dry out for even a few hours the cuttings really suffer.

Glad the roots were high up on the cutting, so I can place the stem in the dirt and not worry about the roots getting broken.

I carefully moved them from the jars of water and the cardboard planters.

Got six plants from a single cutting of my Feverfew. I only have one plant outside and was told to cut it back to the ground in the winter. I have not seen signs of it coming up yet but its early in the year so Im not too worried.

Placing them off to the side until I finished planting all of them.

Gave them a good watering, within an hour it all drained into the cardboard and the soil. We have alot of clay in our dirt so it can slow down the drainage.

Really hoping these plants take off, Ive not had very good luck buying Fewerfew online. A few years back I bought one and its been doing alright. But I tried to buy eight more and none of them survived. Strange it was from the same person I got the Fewerfew from a few years back. So hoping these cuttings do better, once the chance of frost is over I will put them in the ground and see how they do outside. If you have never smelled these plants you should some time, it has a really interesting smell to it. And it makes some really nice little flowers.

Some more info on this plant:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tanacetum_parthenium

https://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/go/319/#b


Addresses below to help me buy better camera equipment and support me to travel to locations to do photo and video and overall great blogs in new places.

CoinAddress
BTC:bc1qhfmvd2gywg4fvrgy2kkkkyqta0g86whkt7j8r7
LTC:ltc1qdyzm5cwgt8e2373prx67yye6y9ewk0l8jf3ys9
DASH:XkSqR5DxQL3wy4kNbjqDbgbMYNih3a7ZcM
ETH:0x045f409dAe14338669730078201888636B047DC3
DOGE:DSoekC21AKSZHAcV9vqR8yYefrh8XcX92Z
ZEN:znW9mh62WDSCeBXxnVLCETMx59Ho446HJgq

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center