News From My Field

Hello everyone! 😎

My last post about the field was 25 days ago. That doesn't mean I haven't done any work on it, in fact, I've been there (almost) every day doing something.

Summer is now well underway, otherwise, there have been daily thunderstorms for the last three days and everything is soaking wet. For some plants it is good, for some, it's not.

I've been most pleased with the potatoes.



But that satisfaction was short-lived. And then I was mostly involved with potatoes. Namely, it was infested by the larvae of the Colorado potato beetle. They eat all the green leaves. I've been planting potatoes here for five years and they have never been here, but this season they came in large numbers.

At first I was removing them by hand, for about five days, but that didn't help, there were more and more of them.


Well, then I got some organic, biodegradable spray, Neem, which supposedly stinks for the larvae, and I sprayed it on. And, within a couple of days, they were gone, but they still destroyed some of my plants. I was relieved.

But that was not all. Then the wild boars came to visit and destroyed some of my potatoes. Again, for the first time.
Apparently, they like some kind of thick white worms that are in the soil, most of them under the potatoes. I have never seen them, the worms, but when the wild boars are rooting and searching, they destroy all the plants without even touching the potatoes.


I don't think they found anything because if they find something, they come back. I'm thinking of fencing the field next year...

📷 😎 📷

Everything else is growing nicely.

The sweet corn is already more than half a meter high.


📷 😎 📷


There are also a few tomatoes, but most of them are still green or yellow. One cherry tomato is already red.
There have been daily thunderstorms for the last four days and this is damaging it, if there is too much moisture mold comes.
Maybe I should put up a roof or something next year, if at all.


📷 😎 📷


📷 😎 📷


Zucchini are harvested regularly. Lettuce too. And I have picked up some potatoes, albeit small ones, which were destroyed by wild boars.


📷 😎 📷


📷 😎 📷


We also picked up chard a couple of times.


📷 😎 📷


The fennel is also growing nicely.


📷 😎 📷


Chickpeas are progressing fine. Soon there will be some beans.


Peppers and melanzans too. As soon as there is plenty of water, you see changes almost daily.


📷 😎 📷


📷 😎 📷


📷 😎 📷


The first chilies have also appeared.


First, small, hokkaido and butternut squash. I don't know exactly which is which yet. They still have to grow.


📷 😎 📷


📷 😎 📷


The green beans wrap nicely around the stakes. No beans yet because we planted them later. Now we are picking the ones that are on the ground.


📷 😎 📷

We have more than enough vegetables now, too many, we don't buy them in the shops anymore, well, I buy some ripe tomatoes because ours are not ripe yet.


📷 😎 📷


I won't say I don't have any worries, because if you work with the soil you are dependent on the weather conditions, and they are not very good at the moment. There is too much humidity and too much heat at the moment, it's raining for an hour every day and there is also hail. If this continues, everything will start to rot.

Well, this is my fifth post about working in the field, for all of you who follow me.
For those of you who are more interested in my farming, here are links to my previous posts where I explained how everything was started.

Changes In The Field, Almost everything is planted, Update - ploughing and planting potatoes, First job in the field - cleaning.

Thanks for your attention, see you when there's something new!

📷 😎 📷

Stay Healthy!
logosecko.gif

NFT Showroom Gallery
My 3Speak Channel
Photo Manipulation
Beer Tasting
New Tunes
Foodies

Ready for Web3
hive_nft_200x200.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency