Harvesting Potatoes

Hello everyone!

Last year I was more detailed about my activities in the field, and this year a little less, although there was more work in the field. Also with potatoes and other vegetables.

Actually, I will start from the back. The main crop in our field (and more or less everywhere in Slovenia) is traditionally the potato. My family and I planted potatoes on one-third of the field quite late, sometime before the first of May.


📷 😎 📷

We planted 6 rows of potatoes from the stakes onwards, we could have planted more, but then it would have been harder to clear the weeds.


🌱 📷 😎 📷 🌱

At the beginning of June, the weeds had completely overgrown our potatoes and were nowhere to be seen. It had to be cleaned of weed.


It took a few days to hoe and clear it of weeds. It was necessary to hoe around every plant.


Two weeks later, the potatoes are progressing nicely, and Atos, our dog, is diligently guarding the field :) 😁


🌱 📷 😎 📷 🌱

After that, the potatoes are no longer touched. We went to the seaside for two weeks, came back for two weeks, went to the seaside again, and at the beginning of August, the field looked like one abandoned, messy field again.

Yes, we don't use anything, no poisons or additives for weeds or any parasites, it's organic farming, so that's what it looks like.

The potatoes are there in the background of the picture, completely overgrown with weeds. But now it's good because it has shade and the soil has moisture, which was needed in this drought.
At the end of August, it will be ready for digging.


🌱 📷 😎 📷 🌱

Four days ago I cut the weeds and the potato plant, we call it Nat here, so we can dig it up in a couple of days.


I've plowed three rows with a motor cultivator. But after that, you still have to hoe by hand.


🌱 📷 😎 📷 🌱

It's not the fattest, but it'll be fine, at least I think so. If nothing else, I'm not a stupid farmer...
In Slovenian, we have a saying "A stupid farmer has a fat potato". Which, of course, should not be taken literally. It means that even the person with the least knowledge can have the best luck. Potatoes can therefore also be synonymous with luck or success ...


🥔 🥔 😎 🥔 🥔


🥔 🥔 😎 🥔 🥔


🥔 🥔 😎 🥔 🥔

Well, this is our crop, we dug about half of it, 6 full boxes, I estimate about 70-80 kilos. In the end, when I dig the other half (hope tomorrow if not rain), I think it will be somewhere around 180 kg. Enough to keep us from going hungry :) 😁

I'm joking, but until Empress Maria Theresa, in the Austro-Hungarian Empire, ordered the planting and cultivation of potatoes, people were starving here ...


Here's another one story, if anyone is interested in more detail, my post from last year about potato harvesting, and there was half as much as this year. About the same time.

Maybe I'm repeating myself with this potatoes :)


Thanks for your attention!

📷 😎 📷

Stay Healthy!
logosecko.gif
@seckorama
My NFT Showroom Gallery
Watch my 3Speak Channel
Beer Tasting

Ready for Web3
hive_nft_200x200.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency