EcoTrain QOTW - Who Are the Most Relevant People of the Time (to you)

Another challenging question of the week for us to wrap our brain things around from @ecotrain.

image.png

The question suggested whether there are any celebrities or politicians that might be significant to our time, i.e. people with global influence or systemic-significance, and I'm very tempted to say Elon Musk is a candidate, given his recent tweeting about Tesla no longer accepting Bitcoin as a payment and the apparent carnage that's wrought on the crypto market.

But then I'm not actually prepared to say Elon or any other global personalities are significant to me personally - their quick-fire messages might well impact my wealth in the immediate term, but I can't know that for certain, I can't trace that causality with any certainty, I just don't have the data.

And I don't personally know Elon, or any other celebrity for that matter, and that distance is ultimately what makes them less significant to me.

I went to my first face to face social event in 18 months last weekend

And met loads of new local people, and I'm more inclined to say that these are the kind of people that are more relevant to me, or at least will be, going forwards.

Making new, real connections, with a diverse bunch of people with a diverse array of interests and skills was just wonderful, it's been a while what with Covid lockdowns making this difficult, but I finally got a feel for the real network around the Penamacor last weekend, and it's pretty vibrant and interesting, and VERY diverse.

It's these local real connections that are, well, real, that I'm more interested in fostering - talk about helping each other when cars break down (as they do around here) and with land related projects on the go, and of course just the general chilled out camaraderie, which has intrinsic value in itself.

And then of course there's all the local neighbours and shop owners who only speak Portuguese - it would be nice if I could level up my language every time we have another interaction, that's in my mind constantly, not that I'm making that much progress with the language, but it's highly significant.

And of course a shout out to the Hiveans I regularly interact with

It's not just IRL people who are significant, Hive remains a pretty stable part of my life, and the interactions I have on chain and on Discord, defi-fretting for example, have taken up quite a lot of time recently!

I'm kind of between IRL and Hive for my significant interactions!

Final thoughts

There's lots of people, making up lots of networks that make up the relevant people in my life ATM, just ordinary people getting on with their lives who I cross paths with briefly but frequently during the course of a typical month, certainly not systems- types!

I guess I'm the perfect post-modern personality!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency