TEACHING DEMONSTRATION: Passed or Redemo?

Colorful Wrapped 2023 Photo Collage_20240624_112547_0000.jpg
Photos are edited using Canva.

What is a Teaching demonstration?

A teaching demonstration is a process that teaches learners how to compete a task using actual materials. The audience level and size can impact the effectiveness of the demonstration (Smith, Wenderoth, & Tyler 2013).

Are you curious about what we are doing in our teaching demonstration? From the word itself, demonstration, it's like having a lecture or demonstration of teaching students inside the classroom.

For an education student like me, it's quite normal to have so much demo teaching. In our ECE 19 subject, we were required to have our teaching demonstration. The teacher is very strict when it comes to these requirements, so we were challenged and, at the same time, very nervous to make mistakes.

But did you know that we spent a lot of time in preparation for the teaching demonstration? If not postponed due to his busy schedules, he's giving us time to work on our research, and it's very helpful to us. Little did we know that the longer it's postponed, the longer our agony will last. It's tiring to think about it every night and day. I wish to perform our demonstration as soon as possible to stop the agony.

IMG20240528124449.jpg

Our first scheduled demonstration is a bit off. Our preparation wasn't enough. My classmates didn't expect that sir would be so serious about our teaching demonstration and we hear lectures from him since we didn't give our best. Only 4 of my classmates performed but only 1 had passed. He told us that we didn't take it seriously and so he gave us another chance to perform again at the next meeting.

IMG20240530131026.jpg

On our second scheduled time, we prepare a lot. We've been waiting for almost an hour, but he never arrived. So, I decided to message him that we were all complete and ready for the demo. He told me to mention him in our GC, and I did. Did you know what he told us? "Hi," "we can't have our face-to-face demo, but make sure to have a video presentation of your teaching demo and pass it before 4 p.m." I know we can't make it until 4 p.m. considering the range of each person who will perform, and uploading on YouTube is time-consuming. So I asked if we could have it until midnight, and he said to pass it until 6 p.m.

IMG20240530131950.jpg

Me and my friends decided to collaborate since Sir told us to have five or more people who would participate. We rushed to the new building and planned what we would do. Surely, it took us almost 3–4 hours to film before we finished and edited the video. The signal wasn't stable, so we went into the MPLC to connect to the free internet. Luckily, I uploaded my video 5 minutes before 6 p.m., but my friends didn't make it on time. Still, they take their time waiting for the video to be uploaded. We didn't notice that it was getting late. It's 7 p.m., but we're still outside.

IMG20240530190003.jpg

It's super tiring that we want to lay down on the dirty floor of the MPLC. Just to avoid the temptation of lying down, I ask my friend to take a walk. When we came back, I saw my two friends lying down. After knowing that they finished uploading, I asked them to go home because it's getting late.

IMG20240530153648.jpg

I thought after that tiring moment of filming and uploading our teaching demonstration, it's done. But no. It doesn't stop there. Since he was not satisfied with our performance, he told us to perform our demonstration face-to-face and we were shocked. But then, we never had a choice.

IMG20240618124220.jpg

For the third time around, we perform again. I ensure that I can perform that day, so my worries will be lessened. And thankfully, I finished my demo, but I'm not sure about my performance. I was nervous, and I forgot something in my lesson plan. I was grateful to perform early so I could focus on my final defense and my exams. That was a good decision, though. But I was feeling sick again after knowing that there's someone who's not good enough and will be doing the demo again. We are all anxious about it; we just assume that we are doing it again.

Until now, we didn't know who's going to redemo or who passed. We waited after the exam, but he never announced the results.

I can say that I am always thankful for the opportunity to have a demo lesson. It helps me enhance my teaching skills and abilities, which I believe I can use in my future career.

Tips for teaching demonstrations:

The objectives in the lesson plan must be met.
The instructional materials must be used appropriately.
The presenter must be presentable.

Thank you so much for reading my blog. I appreciate you all. Have a nice day.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now