Geotesting: My First Job as Civil Engineer

IMG_20200526_223759.jpg

In this photo were my former team in Geotesting International Inc., working in the field. This was my very first job a Civil Engineer. I stayed in the company for more than six years.

This process, as shown in the photo, is called soil sampling using SPT or split spoon tube sampler. It is being hammered in intervals by a 65-kg solid steel. The depth of sampling are commonly every one meter or every 1.5 meters. These intervals will continue up to the depth where the strata is stable and firm.

This tube is being blown down at 45cm. The number of blows are being recorded and it is called N-blows. These data are important in the computation of the bearing capacity of soil. This bearing capacity of the soil determines what type of foundation is going to be designed for a particular building.

As a Field Geotechnical Engineer, I monitor and record all the data gathered at the site - from it's color, features and dense. It gave me also the chance to roam the entire Luzon Island and part of Visayas region.

Thank you for your time reading my blog.

Best regards,
@braddvon21

You can follow me also at my other social media accounts:
Youtube Channel: Bradd Von Learns
Facebook Page: Bradd Von Learns
Instagram: Bradd Von Learns

Or email me at braddvon@gmail.com for inquiries.

received_898336223996741.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center