Cine TV Contest #31 - Firestarter

Photo by Adam Wilson on Unsplash

Hey, it's time for another CineTV contest, and writing about movies is always enjoyable.This competition's subject is to write about a "Favorite Movie with a Young Lead."

(If you want to participate in this contest click👉CineTV contest #31)

Young children or teenagers acting is something I like to watch in movies. I'm constantly in awe and curious about how they managed to achieve it. It's difficult to be an actor; if it were, everyone would be doing it. But for a young person to appear in a movie, let alone play the lead, is a huge accomplishment.

I am sure that you are aware that it might be really challenging to recall every movie one has seen, especially ones with young leads. So if I had to choose my favourite movie from my recent collection, it would be Firestarter since it featured a young protagonist who I liked.

About the movie

This year's May 13th saw the premiere of the American science fiction thriller Firestarter. The 94-minute film chronicles the life of a 12-year-old girl with pyrokinesis, which is the power to start and control fire with the mind. The kid also has other unique powers. I also learned that there had already been a movie made in 1984, so we can claim that the current version is a remake with a different plot for the Stephen King novel that serves as the basis for the film.

The amazing young lead

A 12-year-old girl named "Ryan Kiera Armstrong" portrayed the part of Charlie, the girl with pyrokinesis. She actually did act well and conveyed her emotions effectively; at first, while watching the movie, I mistakenly believed she was older until I looked up her age on Google..

I saw her interview on the red carpet at the premiere of another movie in which she appeared, and I discovered she was just a normal 11-year-old like other kids, but the acting was fantastic. Performance in an action thriller film may be fairly challenging, so I am impressed by the awesome acting.

Did the lead actress age make a difference?

Yes, the actress's age made a difference, and because the film's source literature depicts a young girl, I'm glad the producers stayed with that. Additionally, I think that Ryan's age was ideal for the role since, according to the movie's narrative, Charlie (the character) was an 11-year-old girl, and Ryan, who turned 12 this year, was truly ideal.

Why I love the movie

The movie had excellent CGI effects, and I really liked it because of the youthful protagonist. Since I didn't anticipate some moments coming to pass, the overall plot of the film was extremely unpredictable, making it a true thriller.

I feel old 😂

The incredible thing is that the lead actor, who is 12 years old, was born in 2010, which makes me feel older than I am even though I haven't turned 24. (lol).

You should watch the movie too.


Thanks for reading!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency