Why struggle when tomorrow isn't guaranteed - Series review (TOMORROW)

I was excited to watch this drama for more reasons than I can remember. The most prominent being the fact that it starred famous Korean actor Rowoon as one of the main leads. After watching him in Destined With You which happened to be the only drama of his that I’ve watched, I embraced the idea of watching this drama titled Tomorrow.

Also, another reason that fuelled my choice of drama was when I found out that this drama was a fantasy drama. I’m a lover of anything fantasy so, yeahh that influenced my drive.

Source

So, I settled for Tomorrow and I downloaded the complete episodes before watching. When I say this drama was a masterpiece, it was an entirely awesome drama from start to finish.

Tomorrow is a 16 episode series starring actors Rowoon, Kim Hee Seon, Lee So Hyuk, Kim Hae Soon, Yoon ji-on. It explores themes of violence, death, sexual abuse and suicide.

The series tells the story of Choi Jun Wong (Rowoon) an unemployed young man who is employed to work as a reaper in Jumadeung after he fell into a coma. Before he was employed, he was given two options. Either he works in Jumadeung (a place that deals with the afterlife) for six months and wakes up or he refuses and stays in coma for three years. He finally agrees to work there and is recruited into the Risk Management Team whose job is to prevent people from committing suicide and giving them more reasons to live. He is assigned Team members Ko Ryeon (Kim Hee Seon) and Lim Ryung-gu (Yoon Ji-on), each serving punishments for actions in their past lives.

Although Ko Ryeon was forced to accept him as a member of the team, along the line, she realizes he is exactly what the team needs. His impulsiveness and irrationality helped the team in a number of ways and also caused problems in some cases.

I found this drama perfect so this is going to be a completely positive review.

What and what did I love about this drama?

As emotional as this drama was at some point, one would have thought it wouldn’t have been possible for it to be as funny as regular kdramas but no, this drama had scenes that will make you laugh so hard. I loved the fact that comedy was weaved into it, notwithstanding the fact that it centers on emotionally distressed people in the society. This was something I loved the most. The heartwrenching scenes will have you struggling to holdback tears so they don’t hinder your vision and stop you from watching and the hilarious scenes will also have you laughing very hard. This is something that is hard to find in kdramas lately.

Also, the casting in this drama was amazing. A drama starring the cute Rowoon, the strict ajumma Kim Hae Soon and the handsome Lee So Hyuk has to be one of the top dramas of the year of its release. I was very satisfied with the cast because they devoured their roles in this drama.

Did I mention that all characters were given a solid backstory?

Every character in this drama had a befitting backstory and we were let in on the characters back stories early enough. This was so good as it made me understand the characters behaviours and still did not eliminate the atoms of suspense in the series.

If I’m to rate this drama, I’ll rate it a 9/10 which is my highest rating so far. Yeah, that’s how much I loved this drama.

Do check it out and let me know your opinions.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now