My boy, Adam

My son and daughter were young teens in 1994 and we had moved to a new town 150 miles away from all their friends during the middle of the school year.

To give them something to look forward to, I bought tickets to take them to see Adam Sandler at a show he was doing in Madison WI.

img_0.7328482628705375.jpg

img_0.9898772224126748.jpg

I didn't know much about him, but I knew both of my kids roared with laughter when they watched SNL and I decided I could manage to sit through the show.

img_0.13565248050671574.jpg

We arrived in Madison early enough to get a bite to eat before the show. The kids wanted pizza, but I told them since the rest of the night was for them I got to pick the restaurant. My choice was a vegetarian coffee shop Cafe located in my favorite bookstore. It was just around the corner from the theater. There was a big limo parked in front of the bookstore, and when we went in the hostess seated us at a little table near the back.... Right beside Adam Sandler and Chris Farley! Our tables were practically touching!

img_0.9481440675338658.jpg

We soon became aware that Chris Farley intended to become an impromptu part of the show and that he and Adam were planning out the acts and songs. Chris was writing jokes on the back of a napkin and he would turn to me to try them out, asking my opinion on which punchline I thought was funniest. My kids sat there with their mouths hanging open, but Adam made conversation with them and both he and Chris autographed our restaurant receipt and tickets. This was to my daughter, Alli.

img_0.88163729751948.jpg

Before they left, Adam turned to me and said 'I know the kids are going to love the show, but I always worry about the moms in the audience.'
I told him I would be sitting in the 4th row, right on the aisle and he would be able to tell if I was enjoying it.

The show was like being at a big party! There were tons of laughs and jokes. Adam sang songs that my kids seemed to know all the words to and Chris surprised the audience when he came out and turned cartwheels across the stage and took us to Lunch Lady Land.

Adam sang one particularly raunchy song, and as he picked up his guitar and turned to leave the stage, he put his hand to his eyes to shield the stage lights and looked right at me and said 'How are the moms out there doing tonight?'

My boy, Adam. I have loved him ever since.

Chris Farley was a Madison, Wisconsin native and he died December 18, 1997, at his Chicago apartment of a drug overdose. Adam did this tribute to his friend. It makes me cry.

What is your favorite Adam Sandler movie or song? Chris Farley made us all laugh. What's your favorite skit or movie?

the images I used are screenshots from Amazon



All comments written on my posts, and any posts in Feathered Friends, Shadow Hunters, and Ladies of Hive Community posts receive staked ARCHON tokens.

img_0.47763679421453786.jpg

image by @brittandjosie


plumes.png

80pli5.png

by @barbara-orenya

Join the FEATHER FRIENDS Community

Partnered with ARCHON
Comment and earn tokens!

Supported by OCD


plumes.png

uxeumm.png

Make a shadowy guess in the contest hosted by @eolianpariah!

🌞Guess the Shadow🌞

When you are out Shadow Hunting, remember to go Reflection Hunting and enter @annephilbrick 's contest, too!

Reflection Hunters contest

img_0.3658591587697289.jpg image by @brittandjosie

Join the Shadow Hunters Community

Partnered with ARCHON
Comment and earn tokens!
Supported by @pixresteemer

Sponsored by Ecency

Partnered with ARCHON


Comment and earn tokens!

Posted using Ecency Love

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
44 Comments
Ecency