From Animation To Romance And Historical —My Top 5 Movies

png_20220222_161132_0000.png

Since the CineTV community has been tweeting interesting writing prompts via its Twitter account, I have been stimulated to dig through my film collection and talk about them more.

Okay, so this particular writing prompt is about my Top 5 movies! Yeesh! How do I resolve this? I find it hard to stay updated on all the movies and TV shows released yearly. I am so behind on many movies that I doubt I'll ever catch up...but instead of watching the new ones, I find myself re-watching my favourites. Haha.

To decide on my favourite top 5 movies of all time, it took me about an hour before I could start writing this post. I wrote down on paper the movies I love to rewatch and looked through my PC to check my watchlist. It was soooo hard but I will choose these five! 😂

1. Sound Of Music (1965)

My love of music, romance and comedies mean this movie will definitely be at the top of my list. Released in 1965, I will say the makers did an outstanding job and that's the reason the movie is a classic.

Julie Andrews' joie de vivre and the songs endeared many viewers to this movie and I am not left out. Even though I feel Captain Von Trapp was a mean father, how else would his seven children (gasp) have met Maria?

2. The Lion King (1994)

By now, I'm sure everyone knows I love the Lion King. Amongst all the animated originals that I have watched, I'm yet to see one that would beat this movie.

Not only do I enjoy the soundtracks, but I also admire Simba's bravery. His father was murdered before his eyes and his heritage taken away, he fought back and rescued his Pridelands. Also, the opening sequence is superb. No wonder it's one of the classics!

3. Young Victoria (2009)

Not only do I enjoy rom-coms, animations, action movies but also historical dramas. The history of the British monarchs have always fascinated me, and what's more, Emily Blunt, who starred as Queen Victoria in this movie, is one of my movie crushes! Julian Fellowes, a renowned screenwriter, director and producer is behind this jewel of a film.

4. Finding Nemo (2003)

Want to watch an animation about a father-son relationship and the sacrifices that come with it, I would recommend this movie. Pixar masterfully told this story and entranced viewers, myself included. Dory and Nemo are my favourite characters. The lessons I learned from this movie would be better told in a separate post. It's definitely worth watching and a classic, in my opinion.

5. Obsessed (2009)

My obsession with Beyoncé paired with hunky Idris Elba made this movie one of my favourites. I can't help it, lol! I am a sucker for romantic stories where the couple is handsome and beautiful. As you can guess, a crazy third wheel fought to tear them apart and I am glad she did not succeed.

Everything about these movies are memorable, if not iconic for me —from the writing to the acting to the soundtracks. I have some other favourites but these would do for my top 5.

Thank you for visiting my blog.

Photo by cottonbro from Pexels, edited with Canva App
Trailers from YouTube

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center