Drive 2024 - Star or Flop?

First, I have to ask this question. Does it always have to be so extreme? I see a lot of K-drama and movies and I wonder as much as I gawk at how off the charts they go with their works. South Koreans do not joke with drama especially in revenge plots and crime. Still, does it always have to be so extreme?

About the Movie


Screenshot/IMDb

Drive is a Korean action thriller/crime written and directed by Park Dong-Hee. Released on June 12, 2024, Drive centers on a popular YouTuber, Han Yu-Na (Park Ju-Hyun) who is kidnapped one night and asked to make $650,000 in one hour through livestream.

My Opinion…

Honestly, I think the movie is not bad at all. Apart from the extremities at the end, it was all smooth and I found myself immersed in the storyline. I find that crime movies these days appeal more to me, so I went on a search for something I could watch, and I stumbled on this. The poster intrigued me at first and then the trailer. The start of the movie was good, but I feel that the end was too much. Simple would have sufficed.

Han Yu-Na and the Entertainment Industry


Screenshot

The movie did not just focus on the protagonist but the world surrounding her. It is no secret that South Korea holds some of the largest numbers for mortality rate by suicide. Especially in the entertainment industry where things happen. I have no idea though as I am not Korean or an actor or what have you, still, the numbers do not lie. Following Han Yu-Na and her lose morals; we see what a vicious place the entertainment industry can be. I have to applaud the character though. She has excellent negotiation skills.

The Plot: My Thoughts

Honestly, I will not lie; I cried watching the whole thing unfold. Maybe it is just that time of the month but I experienced it all. I feel that Park Ju-Hyun really captured the emotions of the character. From waking up in her trunk, to jabbing the knife into her palm. Honestly, I already felt suffocated thinking about waking up and finding myself in such a small space. Ju-Hyun delivered excellently in my opinion.


Screenshot

I thought the plot was good. It started with watching Han Yu-Na struggle to build her influence and then finally succeed. However, I feel the plot twist at the end was unnecessary. Not everything always has to be about revenge. Trying to give meaning where there is none sometimes takes away the magic. It could have ended with the felon and all will be good, but making it about a boy and his mom, where we have no idea how she even procured the information she released to manipulate the public just ruined it for me.

Then the thing turned from crime to motivational stuff. I really do not know how to process watching people send money on YouTube with the memo, “don’t give up”. Personally, although I cried, it felt like an ‘overdo’. Maybe I am missing the point, but was there supposed to be any at all?

Conclusion

I will give this movie a 6/10. It was going well until too much and too little came into the mix. However, that is just at the end of the movie, all roads leading to the finale was good though. I enjoyed it.

THANKS FOR READING!.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now