El hoyo 2 (The Platform 2)

Leaving the audience with a disturbing atmosphere, El hoyo 2 was one of the most anticipated Netflix sequels for a while.


source

The expectations finally paid off and after El hoyo, which was released in 2019, the sequel El hoyo 2 was released towards the end of 2024.

Unfortunately, as with many productions, the sequels fall short of the expected impact, but thanks to the audience that sticks with the first movie, the sequel attracts attention, but the disappointment it creates causes more questioning of the sequels.

A dystopia with deep philosophical questions about capitalism, class separation and survival by any means necessary is also present in the sequel. In fact, I think that such questions are conveyed to the audience in a more understandable way compared to the first movie.

If you are one of those who look for simplicity in the teachings conveyed to the audience visually or audibly, you will like the way the story is handled in El hoyo 2.


source

I guess because it's a sequel, it's a movie that touches on similar themes and doesn't add anything new to the story. I personally expected that it would touch on similar topics, but I had a preconceived notion that it would add new elements to the story and surpass the impact of the first movie.

My expectations were not met, and my pre-watch query of “I wonder when the next movie will be released” was replaced with “there was no need for a sequel” after watching the movie.

As a viewer and as someone who suffers from similar issues, I would like to see a more successful story that tells the social division and categorization in a very simple way like every layer on the platform, but it seems that this will only be wishful thinking.


source

I think anyone who watched the first movie and liked the story will already watch El hoyo 2. For those who haven't seen it yet, don't expect too much and think of it as the second part of the first movie.

The only thing that the sequel fulfilled among my expectations was to satisfy my curiosity about how things work between the layers. I confess that I was quite surprised to understand how the space made up of hundreds of layers and the platform that moves in this space, and how the prisoners are transported without a hitch. Why didn't I think of that? Lol

Anyway, of course I won't satisfy your curiosity and spoil your viewing pleasure!

Thank you for being here and reading, take care and goodbye!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center