Cine Kids - Three Cool Video Game Adaptations You Should Watch

Cine kids.png

Cine Kids.png

Introduction

It's Friday, so we're here with another edition of the Cine Kids series. I didn't have to think long about the topic for this week's content as I got reminded about a movie I want to see several times. I'm talking about the Super Mario Bros. movie that's currently still in cinemas. When we went to the movie "Momias" for our daughter's birthday recently, we saw the trailer of this movie and knew we wanted to watch it.

My inspiration for this week comes forward from the reminder that I want to see this one in the cinema if possible. We're going to discuss two other video game adaptations suitable for children so let's get to them, shall we?

Cine Kids.png

Super Mario Bros. 2023

Let's start with the most recent one, even though I have not seen it yet, it's a hot topic for many of us. If you're reading this post, it's possible that you grew up with the Super Mario Bros. game on Nintendo. I know I did. The very first Nintendo was my first videogame and honestly, it was the only one I had during my childhood because my mother could not afford the more expensive gaming consoles that were released afterward.

I always liked to play Super Mario Bros. though, and the famous tune that comes with this game (we all know it!) is one that sticks in your mind forever so it seems. I was quite excited seeing this game from my childhood pop up in a movie trailer and I was impressed by what I saw so I know I have to go and see it soon. Thankfully for me, I'm not the only one and this will probably be another trip to the cinema with the family. To our daughter it's a new movie, she has seen the game online but doesn't have these childhood memories of it (yet). So it will be interesting to see how she likes it, personally, I love the animation style so I suspect she does too.

Of course, I will write a review about this movie once I saw it. If you saw it leave a comment, but no spoilers, please!

Cine Kids.png

Angrybirds

I remember back in Holland, that my oldest daughter played Angrybirds on the phone as her father installed it. I thought she was way too young but the damage was already done. She liked playing it though. I have played it several times myself but once I didn't anymore, I quickly forgot about the whole game and the Angrybirds in general.

Until a few years ago, my boyfriend was watching part two of Angrybirds with our daughter and I really loved it to be honest. It's so funny if you ask me and when we saw part 2, of course, we went hunting for part 1 as well. I think we have seen both movies several times, and all three of us like them. I do feel it's a bit hysteric but for some reason, I can handle it because the humor makes up for it.

Have you seen the movie? What did you think of it? Below you can find the trailer of part 2:

I read that part 3 will come to the cinemas in 2024. There's something we can look forward too and I'm sure we will watch that one too. Let's hope it's a good one!

Cine Kids.png

Sonic the Hedgehog

The last video game adaptation I want to discuss today is Sonic the Hedgehog. Personally, I never played this game as we could not afford all these newly released ones. To me, Sonic the Hedgehog was something others spoke about while I knew nothing about the game or even the character Sonic. When the movie was released, I didn't see it right away, it was probably quite recent that my boyfriend was watching it with our daughter and I joined them when I noticed I liked it. I think Sonic is quite the character, but I have no idea if it also reflects the game as I never played it. If you want to share something about that, please do.

Apparently, there's a second part, which we yet have to watch. It was released last year and now I'm curious to see it so I'm hoping we can watch it during a weekend soon. Our daughter is a big Sonic fan and also likes watching Youtube videos about the game.

Sonic the Hedgehog 3 is coming to theaters on December 20. 2024, which is good news if you liked the first two parts. Here's the teaser trailer:

Cine Kids.png

Conclusion

If you enjoy playing video games, you will probably also enjoy the adaptations when they come out, that is if they're created well enough to reflect on the game. Did you see the movies above? Did you like them? Do you have any other suggestions that are worth watching with the family?

Feel free to share your thoughts in a comment. I'm going to wish you a great weekend ahead and see you next week!

Cine Kids.png

Make sure to follow our Twitter account and join our discord channel.


Header image created with Canva Pro

Posted using CineTV

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center