Oh my! Old-Fashioned Gingerbread - by Sunscape

bread-gingerbread-recipe-5.jpg

Just when you think you're done with the holiday baking and then you find this recipe. Oh my! I just had to try it as I had not had Gingerbread in years. My grandmother used to make it during the holidays.

I was looking for something different to make for dinner and voila, the recipe somehow appeared. Of course, I had to give it a whirl and see if it was like I remembered from my youth.

Old Fashioned Gingerbread

Recipe Source


Yields 2 large loaves

1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 cup unsalted butter, room temp
2 large eggs
1 cup maple syrup
1 cup molasses
4 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp. ground cinnamon
2 tsp. ground ginger
1/2 tsp. ground clove
1 tsp. salt
2 tsp. baking soda
2 cups boiling water

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees f and grease and flour your pans if you are not using non-stick pans. I spray mine lightly with Avocado oil before filling them.
  2. Mix all the dry ingredients and set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk butter, sugar, eggs, molasses and maple syrup.
  4. Alternate adding the flour mix and boiling water to the butter and sugar mixture slowly. Stir until just incorporated.

    bread-gingerbread-recipe-2.jpg

  5. Pour batter into prepared pans and bake @ 325°F for 45 minutes or until the center springs back or prick with a toothpick in the center to see if it comes out dry.
  6. Let the bread cool in the pans for a few minutes and place it onto cooling racks to cool completely.

    bread-gingerbread-recipe-1.jpg

    As you can see I made a double batch of this recipe and used mini loaves instead of large pans. I watched them carefully while cooking as I did not think they would take 45 minutes. Unfortunately, I forgot to take note of how long they took to bake.

    bread-gingerbread-recipe-3.jpg

    I had more batter than I had pans so I made some into little muffins. I even added some chocolate chips and chopped walnuts to the muffins. I wish I had thought of it for a few loaves of bread as they were quite tasty.

    bread-gingerbread-recipe-4.jpg

    I made a simple icing with some confectionary sugar, cream, and a tablespoon of melted butter. Then I drizzled the tops of the gingerbread for a little holiday presentation.

I hope you enjoyed today's post and make some Old-Fashioned Gingerbread to share with your friends and family.

merry-christmas-sunscape.jpg

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center