Canning Day & Pantry Tour - by Sunscape

foodiesbeehive-broth-7.jpg

I had a busy day in the kitchen canning vegetable broth and black beans. I save all my scraps from vegetables in the freezer until I have enough to make a batch of broth. Then I use my pressure canner to preserve it for future recipes.

foodiesbeehive-broth-2.jpg

I have the scraps of onion, celery, garlic, carrots, broccoli, and corn cob in a large stock pot. I fill it with water and let it simmer for about 6 hours.

foodiesbeehive-broth-3.jpg

It takes a long time to release all that goodness from the veggies. Meanwhile, the kitchen smells wonderful while I prepare the black beans and onion broth at the same time.
foodiesbeehive-black- beans-1.jpg

I rinsed the dry beans and soaked them in water overnight. They plumped up nicely and I drained and rinsed them well. In a large stock pot, I added one large onion chopped, the rinsed beans, and covered them with 6 cups of water. After coming to a boil I lowered the heat to a simmer and cooked them for 40 minutes.

foodiesbeehive-black- beans-2.jpg

I jarred the beans with the onion broth and processed them for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Now I have black beans to add to the pantry instead of purchasing them in cans from the grocery.

foodiesbeehive-broth-1.jpg

These are the vegetable scraps from the stock that will be added to the compost pile. I drained the stock twice through cheesecloth before putting it into the jars.

foodiesbeehive-broth-5.jpg

The veggies make the broth a lovely amber color, probably due to all the carrot peels.

foodiesbeehive-broth-4.jpg

These were processed for 1 hour and 30 minutes in the pressure canner. I ended up with 7 quarts of vegetable stock for the pantry shelf. Now I will start saving the scraps for another batch in the future. I mainly use the stock for making a variety of soups, bringing a whole new dimension when using homemade.

Pantry Tour


Per request by @goldenoakfarm I am sharing my pantry with you all. I had never considered doing this until Pam suggested I do so. I do a lot of canning, drying, and stocking up on different items throughout the year. I like to have everything I need on hand. I guess you would consider me a prepper of sorts.

pantry-preserving-1.jpg

This pantry in my laundry room is right off my kitchen and where I keep things I use all the time. It makes my life easier to have easy access to whatever I need.

pantry-.jpg
The rest of the items are in a spare room which works nicely for me. With this extra storage area, I can keep all my canned and dry goods organized. After taking the photos, I realized some items I need to restock.

I hope you enjoyed my little tour and it inspires you to be well-prepared for your family too.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments