One of my Best Homemade Udon Places in Bangkok

Hello fellow foodie lover! NomNomNoodle is back with a recommendation for Udon place in Bangkok. As I mentioned in My Beloved Sushi Place post how much I love Japanese food. I want to elaborate on that and show you guys another type of Japanese food, which today is .... drum roll please ... UDON

LINE_ALBUM_hive tsuru_230824_62.jpg

The other day I took my mom to a place called "Tsuru Udon", where they're famous for their homemade Udon. This is what the entrance looks like.

LINE_ALBUM_hive tsuru_230824_59.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_hive tsuru_230824_60.jpg

I want to take a little time and explain about Udon, for maybe someone who doesn't know what it is. Udon is a noodle dish from Japan, but it's not the same thing as Ramen. Udon noodle is thicker, more straight, and isn't made from egg. As you can see from down below.

ramen_vs_udon_grande.jpg
Source

I've always preferred thicker noodles so Udon is just to my liking more than Ramen for so long. At this place, they have some special delicious menus and I will show you what we had.

LINE_ALBUM_hive tsuru_230824_38.jpg

I started with my order. I ordered "Mentaiko Cream Ikura".
Mentaiko (明太子) is whole roe sacs of Alaskan/walleye pollack, cured with salt and marinated in red chili peppers. Mentaiko is the orange scoop in the middle of the dish. Ikura is the salmon egg which looks like small clear orange balls. When you bite them, they'll explode in your mouth.
LINE_ALBUM_hive tsuru_230824_12.jpg

I love this dish because the cream tastes so nice and creamy. After you mix Mentaiko with the cream sauce, it'll get saltier and goes perfectly with the noodle.
LINE_ALBUM_hive tsuru_230824_11.jpg

Today I add a shrimp tempura and Onsen egg, which is a super soft watery poached egg.

LINE_ALBUM_hive tsuru_230824_14.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_hive tsuru_230824_17.jpg

Then, we moved to my mom's order. Her order is "Buta Bukkake". It's pork cold udon with a poached egg. Doesn't it look so yummy, everybody?

LINE_ALBUM_hive tsuru_230824_36.jpg

It's served with the delicious cold soup in the white jar, that you can pour them in and enjoy the noodle.
LINE_ALBUM_hive tsuru_230824_25.jpg

For drinks we ordered "Yuzu Soda". Yuzu is a Japanese orange that has this unique bitter taste. I'm not a big fan of it, but I can see why some people like it.

LINE_ALBUM_hive tsuru_230824_7.jpg

Now, other than food, I enjoyed the chopsticks, the chopstick holder, and the soup spoon, which I find not very practical to drink soup from, still I love the vibe of it. The chopstick holder is a crane, which is the meaning of the name of the place "Tsuru"

LINE_ALBUM_hive tsuru_230824_44.jpg

Interior of the place is nice. I've always liked the drawings as decorations.

LINE_ALBUM_hive tsuru_230824_46.jpg
LINE_ALBUM_hive tsuru_230824_48.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_hive tsuru_230824_55.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_hive tsuru_230824_54.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_hive tsuru_230824_57.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_hive tsuru_230824_56.jpg

Thank you for joining me and sharing one of my many favorite meals/places today. I hope you guys all enjoying the food and the life around food. Like how I always like to think, good food can always bring up my mood, no matter how messy my life/my situation is.

So.. as always stay hungry, fellow foodie and ...

Khob khun kaa,
Nomnomnoodle 🍜

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now