Chin Chin Making Gone Wrong🤣

Hello everyone, I warmly welcome you to my blog. It's been an amazing day and I hope you all are doing great.

There's always a first time to everything in life, so they say and I'm sure some of us didn't have a wonderful experience on the first time they tried something, either a diy project, cooking, gardening or some other things. Infact some made up their minds not to go ahead with that project because the outcome wasn't as they had expected. It went wrong, infact it turned out to be a squash, hehehe. Dreemers will understand better, lol.

But you know this saying that when one continues to practice something, over time they become perfect and can even be an authority in that field or project area. So a first trail error should discourage you from trying again and again until you attain perfection.

The first time I tried making chin chin was a total flop, I ended up making small buns instead 😂. Here's what happened.

During the Covid 19 where everywhere was on lockdown, I decided to try my hands on so many things which chin chin was one of it. So on one of the days that we were allowed to go out, I went to get foodstuffs and also bought materials for the chin chin. I told the seller that I want to make chin chin with two cups of flour so she measured the materials needed and gave me - sugar, nutmeg, vanilla flavor, baking powder plus margarine. I already had milk, vegetable oil, eggs and salt so I didn't pick them.


I got home happy that I was going to prepare a crunchy tasty chin chin, lol. The next day, I got ready to make the chin chin. I had a little idea of chin chin making because I was helping my elder sister out during the time she was making hers for sale. I was still small then so was only doing the rolling and cutting, although I watched her mix the materials and prepare the barter.


So with that little experience I had then, I was sure I could pull it off so I set to mixing. I sieved the flour, added all the powder materials, grated the nutmeg, and then mixed them very well. I broke two eggs and added, mixed it again and finally added the butter. I started kneading the dough expecting it to soften as the butter mixes up but it was still strong. I added more butter, same thing. I thought that the two eggs I added weren't enough so I added one more and continued kneading.


In my mind, I thought it was the egg and butter that will soften it without knowing that water will be added. Frustration was setting in because the dough was sticky, it was then that I thought of checking YouTube for tutorial. Lo and behold, I found the missing ingredient - water and I immediately added a little quantity, kneaded the dough again and was able to smoothen it.


But there was a problem - it was damn too sticky due to too much egg and butter I added. that I had a hell of a time rolling and cutting it. I sweated it out while doing so but I managed to cut all.

()


That done, I put the vegetable oil on heat and allowed it to get a bit hot. Time to start frying another problem, the cut dough have all sticked together such that weren't separating like they should in the oil.

Ah, this wasn't what I ordered for o, lol. Well I manged to get the first set fried, by then the rest has sticked the more and very soft. I was just contemplating on what to do, then this idea came up "why not turn them into buns?.". That was exactly how I ended up making buns instead of chin chin.


I learnt from my mistake, tried it the second time and it turned out well and since then I've improved. Now I can make crunchy tasty chin chin for sale, if you eat it, you'll definitely ask for more, hehehe.

Thank you for reading, please visit again.

This is my entry for the #mayinleo for day 7.

Still the #threadsaddict 😂

Images Used Are Mine And Are Right Reserved

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments