Returning Home for Sunday supper

image.png
On a whim a week or so back, I bought some grits, not the quick cook kind I grew up with.
So tonight, for the first time in MANY years, I cooked grits, pan fried a thick slice of that ham that Tina (my neighbor) gave me so many months ago, made some "red eye" gravy out of the drippings (onion cooked in that as well) and sliced up a home grown tamater.

image.png
I cooked the ham and onions in the black iron fry pan, the grits in a stainless steel pot.

It was pretty good, I swore off grits when I left Claxton and joined the Air Force. We had grits for breakfast every day but Sunday, when it was pancakes.
We had grits for supper almost every weeknight, so I was quite sick of it.
When I came up here to Atlanta in '09, I'd been eating Hash Browns in various iterations, but I decided to try them again at Waffle House, liked them and here we are now

PorchII.jpg

"Grits, returning home"

by
Jerry E Smith
©09/26/2021
Images are original




cyktlq.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center