New Year's Eve French Appetizers I Enjoyed Eating with the Family

Hi, Foodies Beehive! For today's blog, let me share with you the New Year's Eve French menu we enjoyed eating as a family here in France. My sister-in-law invited us to celebrate the New Year 2024.

I apologize if I don't show my face in the photo because the French Appetizers are the subject.

Now, let me show you some photos.

First Serving

nye01.jpg

My sis-in-law and I took photos of the food on the table. I have to let you know that I don't know the names of the other appetizers that were prepared.

nye02.jpg

nye03.jpg

Les Verrines

The French word for glass is "verre", inside the little transparent glasses have crab meat, the meat of the shrimp, some creams, and some salad.

nye04.jpg

Charcuterie on a stick

You can see the saucissons, ham or jambon, fromage or cheese, cherry tomatoes, and radish.

nye05.jpg

Taco wraps

Not sure if this is a typical French appetizer but of course, what I see is a rolled Taco wrap. Inside it were some shredded carrots, hams or jambon, and some cream.

nye06.jpg

Blinis

I am not familiar with what was eating but I identified some cream. Usually, Blinis are made of mini pancakes. For the toppings, possibly it's Cream cheese (some will do with Camembert or sour cream) and red fruit jam.

nye07.jpg

I don't remember what was inside.

nye08.jpg

Red Wines and Champagnes

I am not a fan of wines and champagnes although sometimes I drink champagne. But for New Year's Eve, I didn't drink any. Just water.

nye09.jpg

It's so appetizing just looking at the photos.

Second Serving

After the first serving of the menu has finished, let's move on to the next menu.

nye10.jpg

As the only Filipino on the table, sometimes, I missed our typical Filipino Christmas and New Year's Eve dinner. Haha! Although the French menu is exquisite.

nye11.jpg

Les Huitres or Oysters

Living in the Bretagne region, eating Oysters is a common thing here. To eat this, pour some lemon on it and you can add vinegar with spices and herbs.

nye12.jpg

Le Saumon Fumé or Smoked Salmon

I was eating smoked salmon with bread or sandwich bread. I put unsalted butter on the bread, squeezed a little zest of lemon, put the salmon on top, and squeezed another zest of lemon.

nye13.jpg

Le Foie Gras

Foie Gras translates to "fat liver" from a duck or goose. I never thought this is really expensive despite the controversy of producing foie gras.

nye14.jpg

For the main course, I wasn't able to take photos. Haha! So, I hope you enjoyed my photos of the French appetizers being served during New Year's Eve.


Roxanne Tamayo - www.itravelrox.com

Welcome to iTravelRox! Roxanne Tamayo is a Cebuana who is a traveler. Now a mom of 2 kids and a wife. She is a travel blogger and a digital nomad. As a Virtual Assistant, she does a lot of things like content writing, WordPress web design, WP updates and maintenance, graphic design, and photo editing. She is into wedding photography, as well.

If you like iTravelRox's content, please don't forget to upvote and leave a comment. She will share a lot of stories about solo travels, motherhood, family travel, and working as a VA.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now