Cooking with my husband Making Pempek typical of Palembang, Sumatra (a fish-based dish with palm sugar vinegar sauce)

Hello, how are you foodie friends, I feel like I've missed a lot of moments with you because in the last few months I've been busy with a very busy routine, starting from preparing for my daughter's kindergarten school to other things that have been so busy that I haven't had the opportunity to share and greet each other together you guys.

Today I am back again to share with you. I hope that in the future I can continue to share cooking recipes and other things with you.

Just today I made Pempek, a typical Indonesian Sumatran dish whose main ingredient is fish which is enjoyed with vinegar sauce. Generally the fish used are snakehead fish, mackerel fish and some people modify the use of fish with other types. The vinegar sauce is made from palm sugar, garlic and chilies cooked together as a complement to enjoying this pempek.

There are various types of pempek, namely Kapal Selam "eng: submarine"(with egg filling), lenjer (long shaped), pempek skin (made from fish skin), and many more.

This time there was something different because I cooked together with my husband, so there were some parts that my husband did and others that I did. Today my husband made egg pempek and I made skin pempek.


Egg Pempek


Materials used:
900 gr mackerel fillet
800 gr sago flour
1 egg
100 gr wheat flour
800 ml water
2 tbsp salt
2 tbsp granulated sugar
1 tbsp flavoring (optional)

Contents: 3 Eggs 1 tsp salt ½ tsp flavoring (optional) 100 ml water

Note: I'm sorry the ingredients weren't photographed because my husband did it, but I have a complete recipe with photos for what I did.


How to make egg pempek:


• Puree the fish then mix it with water mixed with sugar, salt and seasoning. Stir with the fish until evenly mixed.
• Add sago flour, wheat flour, add water little by little, mix until half smooth, then add 1 egg and mix until well mixed and smooth (not sticky to your hands)
• Once the mixture is finished, heat the pan then mold the mixture with your hands into a round shape and make a hole, pour in the filling then cover.
• Boil pempek until cooked and floury.


Skin Pempek


Material :
400 gr mackerel fish skin
150 ml water
175 gr sago flour
50 gr wheat flour
1 tsp salt
½ tsp sugar
½ tsp flavoring (optional)


How to make:


• Prepare all the ingredients then put the fish skin into the food container, then add sugar water, salt and seasoning.

• Once smooth, add the sago flour and wheat flour then chop until it forms a non-sticky dough

• Mold the dough into a flat shape then boil it in a pan filled with boiling water

• cook until the pempek floats


Vinegar Gravy (Kuah Cuko)


Material :

150 gr palm sugar
75 gr chili
80 gr garlic
1 tbsp salt
½ tbsp flavoring (optional)
3 tbsp cooking vinegar
30 gr rebon shrimp
500 ml water


How to make:


• Blend the chilies with the garlic until they are half smooth.

• Add the salt and ground seasoning again then add the pureed rebon shrimp again.

• heat the brown sugar cooking water until it dissolves, then add the crushed chilies and onions and cook until it boils. Don't forget to correct the taste if it is suitable, add cooking vinegar (when using cooking vinegar you have to be careful because the sour taste of each vinegar can be different, usually different brands will affect the acidity level of the vinegar)

• Vinegar is ready to be served with pempek.


Serving suggestions:


• Drizzle the pempek with vinegar then enjoy with sliced ​​cucumber

• or you can fry the pempek first to get a crunchier and crispier texture then drizzle with vinegar sauce


That's the food I made with my husband... maybe the steps are too long because I made several types... I hope you understand what I wrote and are interested in trying it. See you on my next blog. Warm greetings from me, Indah Ayu from Indonesia.😊 Bye bye

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now