not your grandma's sweet potatoes

okay okay, I know what you're thinking

sweet potatoes are grosssss

And wile I staunchly disagree with you, I also empathize with why you may feel this way. You get offered a food marketed as a potato and it tastes bitter but also sweet but also starchy??? Potatoes are one of God's greatest gifts to the earth, so why does it taste like this??

I'm here to deliver some great news: sweet potatoes can be delicious. Just mix them with a bunch of other things, and they might just be your new favorite food. For real though, roasted sweet potatoes are my thing right now.

Here's a recipe for a yummy, Mediterranean (ish) dish full of fiber and vitamins! All of my measurements are eyeballed, so experiment and add your own flare to it!

I like to start by cutting my sweet potatoes into chunks (about 1-2 inches on each side), because they're easier to eat that way. Make sure to skin any questionable bits off. Toss them in some oil and spices (paprika, garlic, onion, salt, & pepper), and cook for about 40 minutes on 400° f. I like them a little crispy, so you could definitely cut the time down if you want.

img_3191.jpg

Grab a can of garbanzo beans, drain them, and toss them in a tiny bit of oil and a lot of seasonings. Play around with the spices to figure out what you like, but I typically use the same ones I used for the sweet potatoes. Pop them in an air fryer or oven until they're as crunchy as you want them. I typically air fry them for 20 minutes at 400°, giving them a little shake halfway through.

img_3193.jpg

Cut up a handful of grape tomatoes in half, toss them in-you guessed it-oil and spices. Let them cook in a skillet at low heat for a few minutes, and then turn it up to medium-high for one to two minutes.

img_3197.jpg

Whip up a little garlic sauce with literally anything you have. I'm still working out the kinks of this part, but I usually mix together a little lemon juice, oil, minced garlic, and spices.

img_2806.jpg

Dish it all out in the prettiest way you know and voila! You have a delicious take on the veggie you used to hate!

All photos taken by me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center