How to make Grilled Stingray?

Hi Hivers in #foodiesbeehive, have a nice day.
Today I will introduce you to a dish that my wife has prepared recently, which is grilled stingray. Luckily, we live near the sea so we always have fresh seafood all year round. Summer has come, and summer is also the season of stingrays in our place. So my wife decided to make grilled stingray recently.

brown_and_green_clean_grid_color_inspiration_moodboard_photo_collage.png

Steps to prepare the stingray (sorry, my wife did these steps while I was at work so I couldn't take a picture to show you)
1 - Wash the stingray and remove the internal organs.
2 - Use a small knife to scrape off the mucus from its skin that gives off a fishy smell after cooking.
3 - Wash the stingray again with ginger and vinegar to completely remove the fishy smell.
4 - Use a small knife to cut lines on the stingray's skin so that the stingray's flesh easily absorbs the spices and heat when grilling.
5 - Marinate stingray with chili, lemongrass, onion, pepper and cooking oil for 1 hour.
6 - Wrap both sides of the stingray with piper lolot leaves and place it in the grill.
Then the job of grilling the stingray was mine, it took me about 30 minutes, and my mouth was watering the whole time.

img_0015.jpg

img_0018.jpg

img_0035.jpg

Talking a little about dipping sauce, dipping sauce is an indispensable part to create the attractiveness of grilled stingray. At my place, we usually eat grilled stingray with a kind of dipping sauce called "Mắm Nêm", I don't really know how to translate it into English. "Mắm Nêm" is a fermented product of fish such as anchovies, herring, and scad with some ingredients such as pineapple, powdered grilled rice and sugar. I have let many of my foreign friends try the "Mắm Nêm", but not many of them liked it, some even commented that it smelled like dead animals for days. Well, my advice is to hold your nose the first time you try it and feel it with your taste, then I believe you will like it.

img_0085.jpg

img_0087.jpg

img_0067.jpg

We usually roll grilled stingray with raw vegetables in rice paper before dipping it in the "Mắm Nêm". Uhmm...yummy!

img_0038.jpg

img_0042.jpg

img_0045.jpg

img_0046.jpg

img_0048.jpg

img_0049.jpg

img_0050.jpg

img_0051.jpg

img_0052.jpg

img_0054.jpg

img_0055.jpg

img_0056.jpg

img_0057.jpg

img_0059.jpg

img_0068.jpg

img_0084.jpg

My wife also steamed some clams with lemongrass.

img_0090.jpg

We had grilled stingray with raw vegetables.

img_0072.jpg

img_0074.jpg

img_0078.jpg

img_0093.jpg

img_0098.jpg

My dogs also love grilled stingray and clams.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency