Mouth-watering Delicious Vegetable Soup🥗 🤤

😊 Hello fellow foodies 👋

Hey guys, as we all know yesterday 14th February was Valentine’s Day ❤️, hope you all had fun and shared lots of love to people around you 😊.

Yesterday i was all alone since my family and most friends aren’t in the city I stay, I decided to treat myself specially by making a sumptuous but simple Vegetable soup popularly known as Edikang Ikong soup 😋.

IMG_2941.png

Firstly, let me tell you lovely people about this soup briefly. Edikang Ikong soup is a Nigerian soup that originated from the Efik people of Akwa Ibom and Cross River in the southern part of Nigeria 🇳🇬.

This soup is known for it nutritious and delicious benefits, sometimes people refer it as a big man soup(meaning soup of the rich) 😂,Below👇🏾 are the ingredients that are mostly used when making this soup🥘.

  • Fluted Pumpkin popularly know as ugu leaf 🍃 in Nigeria
  • Water leaf 🍃
  • Pepper 🌶️
  • Periwinkle 🐌
  • Salt 🧂
  • Meat 🥩
  • Palm oil
  • Onions 🧅
  • Seasoning 🧂
  • Cow skin popularly known as kpomo in Nigeria
  • Crayfish

IMG_2941.png

Ok guys!, now that we know the ingredients used to make this special soup let’s proceed to how we can put it all together to achieve that 😊, but have in mind that there are several ways to make this soup but I’ll teach you the simplest way, let’s go 😉

Hold on… before turning on you cooking gas I’ll advice you get your ingredients ready by washing your meat 🥩, periwinkle, cutting the fluted pumpkin, water leaf, onion and cow skin into little pieces just as I did below 👇🏾

IMG_3033.jpeg
Above is the chopped water leaf 🍃

IMG_3032.jpeg
Here is my chopped fluted pumpkin

IMG_3027.jpeg
This is my chopped onion 🧅

IMG_3028.jpeg
Above is the cow skin

IMG_3029.jpeg
That’s 👆🏾my washes meat 🥩

IMG_3026.jpeg
That’s my washed periwinkle 👆🏾

Good job 👍
Have your meat 🥩 in the pot, add little water 💦,pour in your onion, little salt and seasoning 🧂 now you can turn on your cooking gas 🔥 to steam the meat half way.

Note: Avoid using lots of water because the only water you’ll be needing will come out from the leafs that’s the uniqueness of the soup.
IMG_3035.jpeg

Allow it to steam till you have little water left in the pot. After that been done, next is to pour in your palm oil, I like using lots of palm oil it gives me the kinda taste I like and also you need enough since you aren’t adding water anymore to the soup. Palm oil 👇🏾

IMG_3099.jpeg
https://images.app.goo.gl/yoffuDQTusTsqPvu8

Wait for the palm oil to heat a little, next you add your pepper🌶️,seasoning, periwinkles and crayfish

IMG_3036.jpeg
Grind pepper 🌶️

3E0D2735-8122-459A-9D26-94B180E3D196.jpeg
Here is my crayfish, salt and seasoning.

IMG_2941.png

Allow it cook for 5 minutes, add your fluted pumpkin then add the water leaf then mix , cover the pot allow it cook for a little time so you don’t overcook the leafs cos it’s better to have it looking fresh.

Now that you are done ✅ you will have a delicious vegetable soup looking like this 👇🏾

IMG_3037.jpeg
Delicious Edikang Ikang soup 😋

You can eat this mean with any of the following

IMG_3100.jpeg
https://images.app.goo.gl/LaY9pLqVBtE5Ae5v9

IMG_2941.png

Thanks for reading my fellow foodies, let me know if you will like to try this or there’s a question you’d like to ask.

Happy Valentine’s period.
Eat so you’ll have strength to love 😆
I love you all ❤️.
Let love lead.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center