From Spirits to Wine: Selecting Quality Alcohol

FullSizeRender.jpeg

A while ago, I used to make coffee blossom cocktails for my friends who would come to the estate. There was this one time I had messed up the drink. The secret was precision! If you’re trying to craft a perfect cocktail, you got to understand that you have to have the right measure to elevate the drink.

This is a measuring tool definitely ensures the accuracy of the amount of alcohol you need to add while mixing spirits. It is a peg measure which amounts to using 30 ML to 60 ML sometimes even a 90 ML. The next time I tried making the same cocktail, I used this peg measure and guess what I got the beverage made right.

FullSizeRender.jpeg

Recently during my promenade to the wines and spirits shop, I had been searching for a rose wine. Since my aunties like wine, while the men have beer. I knew I had to pick up the correct wine, which would be sweet, but not too perfect. As they are more into sweeter wines. that’s when I came across this Portuguese wine that has crisp acidity and subtle floral notes. I like how unique the shape of the bottle makes the wine almost look like whiskey from outside.

FullSizeRender.jpeg

Apparently, one of the buyers was trying to purchase this Magic Moments, flavoured vodka, and he told me that it is great as a chilled shot. I hope one day I’ll buy this and try it in a creative cocktail recipe. I wasn’t ready to believe that this brand is actually from India and they have used high quality grains to make this spirit.

FullSizeRender.jpeg

Well, there is not much to say about this beer. It became very popular during the Covid time in the year 2020 mostly because of its name rather than the kind of flavour it has.🤣

FullSizeRender.jpeg

Uff, the intricacies in the detail of the glass bottle thoroughly amazes me. Did you know that this Cognac is made of land of over hundred different brandies spirits. Apparently, all you need is a good of water to appreciate the elegant taste it has.

FullSizeRender.jpeg

You might be wondering, what was the reason for me to shop for alcohol. It was my dad’s birthday in two days time, and I had to get the right alcohol with a plenty of the right juices to make perfect cocktails. But for kids, who definitely can’t have these, we kept cans of ginger ale.

FullSizeRender.jpeg

My dad had a carton of beer for all the guests. the most popular one we use is Kingfisher beer or Tuberg sometimes even the Budweiser. So we did not pick up this beer that you see. BIRA 91 has the perfect logo of a monkey that’s completely intoxicated. I’m pretty sure it is seeing the stars today.🤣

FullSizeRender.jpeg

Last time during my mom’s birthday, I had bought the same brands white wine. Which I could not find this time, but I found a rose.

FullSizeRender.jpeg

The more I walked into the shop, I could find coffee related drinks. This one is the Kahlua. What I cannot believe is, it is a blend made out of Arabic coffee beans, a little bit of rum, vanilla and sugar. Did you know that Espresso Martini has this particular coffee liquor in it? 🍸

FullSizeRender.jpeg

The lighting made each beer can pop with colours. whenever I walk through this place, it makes me think of the kind of brand and the colour that they choose to highlight their products. I can’t seem to shake the amount of observation that goes into understanding a particular brand if it’s not a unique fancy bottle. It’s always the colouring that makes, it stand out.

IMG_6781.jpeg

Couple of months back, I had been to a pub called Sherlock!
I made the mistake of going there with my parents who found it really loud and slow in terms of service. We had actually ordered this particular be called Hoegaarden. But we walked out of the pub sense. Nothing arrived, even after waiting for 10 whole minutes. I can’t believe they didn’t even open the bottle of beer and serve right away.

FullSizeRender.jpeg

We weren’t sure, if the uncles would choose the beer this time because it was raining continuously. We thought that they may be afraid to try the chilled beer. so we got a back up off a bottle of whiskey just in case they want to not try the same old beer.

FullSizeRender.jpeg

FullSizeRender.jpeg

FullSizeRender.jpeg

We were done, grabbing the bottles we required. Dad had gone to pay for the drinks. That’s when I got to shoot some extra shots of the place. The name of this shop was called ‘Wines and Spirits’.

FullSizeRender.jpeg

FullSizeRender.jpeg

FullSizeRender.jpeg

FullSizeRender.jpeg

That’s about it from me today. What’s your favourite alcohol that you would mix with a cocktail? 🍸✨ Let me know in the comments. See you on my next post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now